Spicy Maryland Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
As a Marylander, I have tried many crab dip recipes and this one by far is the best---just the perfect amount of cheese, lemon and Old Bay. My family and friends thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
As a Marylander I can vouch for it's authencicity! One thing I found is that it was too salty with 3 TBSP of Mcormick's Old Bay seasoning (it may not be with other brands) I took it down to a little less than 1 TBSP and it was perfect, absolutely delicious. I've found some of the restaraunt brand seafood seasoning to be better than Old Bay, (less salty) I'll have to try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I made this as an appetizer to a meal for me and my 5 roommates and they loved it! Great appetizer! I served with italian bread and it was used more as a spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
This is easy to fix and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
I love this dip! It is so easy, and it is sooo good. I didn't put quite as much old bay in the second time, and I thought it was a little better. I think I used 2 tablespoons instead of 3. It was great reheated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
Awesome! This is the best base recipe for authentic crab dip I've come across so far. I doctored it up a bit with adjusting the spices, adding additional cheddar cheese, a touch of horseradish and about 1T. minced onion. We're big spice fans, but this recipe is still delicious and simple as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
Very good crab dip - a little less lemon juice might help. Can't say it was kid-friendly, but kids (although from MD), will have nothing to do with crab. Otherwise, we really enjoyed it and will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
This dip is wonderful...made it for Super Bowl...it was a real hit! make sure you use fresh crabmeat. I used backfin and it turned out great! Will make again definitely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARYN821

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I made this in the crockpot. On the way out the door to work put two cans of stew tomatoes and the beef broth in the crockpot with diced celery and diced onion and spices. Came home and dumped one can drained: corn, lima beans, string beans, carrots and peeled white potatoes which I diced. Cooked that for another 2 hours in the crock on high. Last hour dumped in Phyllips back fin one pound of crabmeat. Most expensive soup I've ever made by the best. Hubby won't shut up about it. This is the real deal and tastes EXACTLY as it does in your finer restaurants on the east coast. Thank you thank you thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
I took this dip to a party and everyone loved it! I didn't follow the suggestion about how much Old Bay to use. I just sprinkled it in until it "looked right."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States