Spicy Maryland Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LOVEYKEL
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
okay, I just had to come write a review. This is one of the first recipes I printed off of here when I joined in 2003. Well, it is by far the one I have used/made/shared most often. It is DELICIOUS!! I get requests from my family members all of the time. I follow the directions exactly and always put it in a bread bowl. Yummo! Today will be my 6th New Year's Eve that I make it - it is a tradition. The only thing I modify is the amount of Old Bay - some people don't like it that strong (I do) - so I use slightly less. You have to make this!!! I'll try to remember to take a picture today and upload it. P.S. - I transfer the mixture to my bread bowl, wrap in foil, and bake for at LEAST 30-45 minutes. Perfect! Just take to your gathering in the foil, unwrap and ta-dah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVEYKEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
As a Marylander I can vouch for it's authencicity! One thing I found is that it was too salty with 3 TBSP of Mcormick's Old Bay seasoning (it may not be with other brands) I took it down to a little less than 1 TBSP and it was perfect, absolutely delicious. I've found some of the restaraunt brand seafood seasoning to be better than Old Bay, (less salty) I'll have to try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I love this recipe. It is true Maryland Crab Dip to me. I messed up and added more cheese than it called for but it turned out to be so delicious, I have continued adding more cheese. I use 1 bag of shredded cheeses...a blend instead of just cheddar. I usually use the 4 cheese shredded bag. Everyone loves this dip so much, I have given out the recipe at least a dozen times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
A real taste of Balmer hon! (That's Baltimore for those who aren't from Maryland.) I was shocked at how many crab recipes on here don't have Old Bay as an ingredient. Living most of my life in the Chesapeake Bay watershed, I would have sworn that making crab without Old Bay was illegal. ;) I did put only one dash of hot sauce though, and I used a Mexican blend cheese because that's what I had on hand. I used this to make crab pretzels along with the "Buttery Soft Pretzels" recipe also from this site. For those not from this area, a crab pretzel is a soft pretzel with crab dip spread on top. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
My boyfriend and I visited Maryland for Spring Break and ate crab dip at nearly every meal. After returning to KY we missed it so much we were determined to find a similar recipe. This one is dead on. We make it all the time and if pressed have even used fake crab. This recipe is wonderful!!! Serve on slices of italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lyndylou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wendy31179
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This was ok. It was good but not exciting. I think next time I will try it with Parmesan instead of the cheddar. I added a can on small shrimp also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy31179

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
As a Marylander, I have tried many crab dip recipes and this one by far is the best---just the perfect amount of cheese, lemon and Old Bay. My family and friends thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This recipe was a hit at Thanksgiving dinner. I did tweak it a bit so that I could use all of my crab and I didn't have more than a tsp. of old bay left. I used about a 1 pd of crab (mixed jumbo lump can and philips fresh back fin) To offset the extra crab I added another 4 oz of cream cheese and doubled the mayo and hot sauce. Everything else I kept the same except I did add about a Tbsp of minced onion. The flavor will vary depending on what type of crab you are using. I like the backfin because it has a nice strong crab flavor. It all depends on what type of crab you like. If you wouldn't want to eat it plain, don't put it in the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heilwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Made this last night to bring to a party and it was very tasty! It was also VERY rich! I sliced a baguette of french bread and brushed some garlic infused oil on it before putting it under the broiler for a couple of minutes to toast. We spooned the crab dip on the toasted slices and it was yummy! Next time I make this, I want to try serving it in mini puff pastry shells. I think it would also be good stirred into some penne pasta. So many possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Originally from Maryland, had trouble finding a good crab dip recipe, until we tried this one. Made it for a football game it only lasted 1/2 hour. EXCELLENT!!!!! Thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States