Spicy Maryland Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I made this for Christmas and everyone loved it the only thing I did different was added a few more dashes of hot sauce and less old bay and topped off with mozzerella cheese which really browned well and served with flour tortilla's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
i made this basically according to the recipe~ although i did add cheese to the mix as well as on top (we LOVE cheese!) i put it in the toaster oven to cook and accidently broiled it for the first 15 min or so. it turned a nice brown golden color and then i ended up baking for just about 10 min. i toasted some pita and served the dip with that and some of the new triscut parmasean crackers... it was PHENOMENAL!!! everyone LOVED it! apparently this is the new fave and im making it again for a christmas eve party! thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I made this for a work party and it was okay. I still have 1/2 left. I love crab, but I even thought this was okay. I followed the directions mostly - left out the hot sauce and used 1 tbsp of Old Bay as most people suggested. I even cooked it for 45 minutes, because it didn't seem to set. It was very runny. I probably won't do this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Mia's Cakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Definitely cut back on the Old Bay! I used 1 TBS instead of 2 TBS and even then I was playing with fire. A few more dashes and the Old Bay would have been overkill. To be safe next time I am going to use just shy of 1TBS. Instead of 1/2 cup of cheddar I increased it to 1 cup. With these modifications this dip was DELICIOUS! It is best on crusty baguette slices brushed with oil and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
The best crab dip I've ever made! I made some small adjustments based on previous reviews: 1 tbsp old bay was plenty, increased cheese to 2 cups, used a few extra tablespoons sour cream, and used a full 16oz of lump crabmeat. It was a huge hit at my work party and the pan disappeared pretty quickly. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I'll be making this for a Thanksgiving appetizer for the fifth year in a row this year. Our hosts always ask me to bring the Crab Dip. The first year I made the recipe as written, now I sort of taste and tinker to fit my individual tastes as I put it together, but the recipe is excellent just as it is. I like to put it together the night before and chill, and then cook it before serving, I think this helps the flavors balance and come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
If you're from Maryland...this is the BEST crab dip ever! I had lots of Old Bay and extra cheese! Serve with french bread or Town house crackers. I make it at our Annual Wine Fest in Md. and just made it again at Christmas....lots of compliments!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NEWFMOMTIFF
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Yep, it's definitely authentic Maryland style crab dip! I bought some fresh crab at Baltimore's Lexington Market while visiting on Friday and made this dip on Saturday. I used only 2 teaspoons of Old Bay since I don't like too much spice, but it gave it just the right kick. I baked the dip in individual ramikin dishes which was a nice presentation. Definitely keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWFMOMTIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
excellent dip! Don't be afraid to add a few more dashes of the hot sauce though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Loved it. Couldnt find a cracker good enough to enjoy it with!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States