Spicy Mango Sweet Potato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Great recipe! I cooked the chicken in some grated ginger to begin with and didn't use as much hot sauce (and I'm glad about that!) This has just the right amount of spice to it! Can't wait to make it again! I saw other users say they used cilantro, pineapple bits, and onion. I may try that in the future. I wonder what this would taste like over a bed of spinach?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Delicious! Tried this for the first time tonight and everyone in the house loved it. Saved this to my recipe box for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meepandsnooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Chicken was bland. Flavors did not really come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Roasted the sweet potatoes as reviewers recommended. Doubled the recipe, but used only the 3 TBL hot sauce (used Tobasco) and eliminated the red pepper flakes. It was still very hot. Used low sodium regular soy sauce, which worked out well. My friends loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
So, I like the idea, but the recipe as written is terrible. First, as others mentioned, it is way too salty. Perhaps it was supposed to read 6 teaspoons of tamari? I used only half of what was called for and it was barely edible. Also, the proportion of the meat to "veggies" was way off. I had to hunt around for pieces of non-meat. I also had to up the hot sauce (I used sriracha). To improve this, I would replace the mango and sweet potato with real vegetables, because with a sweet sauce, you barely notice them. Then, I would use 3 tablespoons of tamari and 1 tablespoon of fish sauce to add more complexity. I also only use boneless skinless thighs, as they stay more moist. I served it over quinoa, which was great, as there was lots of sauce (it was more like a stew than a stir-fry, which I liked about the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Turned out great! Family loved it. I didn't have soy sauce, used teriyaki sauce instead. Still tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenHendrks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Used less hot sauce & red pepper flakes for people who dont like too spicy. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This is surprisingly good! I think it is more sweet than spicy but not overly so. The mix of mangoes and sweet potatoes with the sauce is very delightful. Serve with rice for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Maybe I did it wrong... I just wasn't a fan of the sweet potatoes... The sauce was really good... I'd make it again swapping pineapple for the sweet potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
We like this a lot but I wouldn't say it's the best or anything. Definitely very good thought and a keeper in our book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States