Spicy Mango Sweet Potato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Easy and full of flavor. I used non-stick spray instead of the oil. I served it over whole wheat pasta. This dish is super duper healthy yet it doesn't taste boring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Very good combo of flavors! I like the spiciness, but I would recommend being careful with how much hot sauce you add, cuz it can get pretty hot pretty fast. I liked how tender the sweet potatoes got with boiling them, but roasting them would work too. Served it atop quinoa for a delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clairvis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This has become a favourite in our house, 3 times in 4 weeks. I used 1/2 tsp Tabasco for the hot sauce and added a little more Honey. Turned out great. We have had this with pasta and brown rice, both work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I'm the chef at a residential center responsible for feeding 40 people lunch and dinner, five days a week. When I found this recipe, I thought it sounded really good. So I made it for dinner tonight. Let me say that there are now 41 people who agree that this is just plain *delicious*!! A little sweetness, a little heat. Most excellent!! In fact, a dozen of our clients have asked for copies of the recipe. Thank you, ArianeK!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ode

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Not very pretty but very tasty, I had is just by it's self with the sweet potato I don't think it needs added starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Delicious! This recipe was very flavorful and relatively easy to make. The only changes I made (completely based on personal preference, not because it needed something) were to add walnuts to the finished dish and also to pour some honey over the top of it when it's done -- that way you can really taste the sweet and spicy together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatyDid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This was pretty darn good. I would have added more mango. Either use one very, very large mango or two medium-sized mangos. The mangos really add a nice flavor. In addition, I think it'd be better to ROAST the sweet potatoes. I think boiling them zapped them of their wonderful flavor (not to mention NUTRIENTS) and made them a bit soggy. I only gave it four stars because it wasn't something that was SO delicious that I just HAD to have a second helping! But it was extremely healthy and tasty, and it made for an easy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This recipe was awesome! My husband and I LOVED it! Loved everything about it! The sweet with the spicy...it was just as good, if not better the next day for lunch! The only thing I did differently was roast the sweet potatoes (40mins/400*) in the oven. I think it actually helped the texture as the potatoes were a little crispy around the edges and held together after the sauce was added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
this was good but a very different flavor. I sauted up a green pepper and a sweet onion and added it which I though really added to the taste and texture. I used jar mango (not in season) and extra garlic but kept everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This was a surprise...I couldn't imagine how this was going to work out, but I had everything on hand so I tried it - it has a great taste with some kick. I would say it's almost like an American curry substitute. I'm eating the dish by itself (and I didn't add chicken), because, like a previous reviewer, I can't see how I can add in more starch. I'll keep checking back to see if I can find something else to put under it. I think I'll try some asian noodles next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMULLARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States