Spicy Mango Sweet Potato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I am the chef for 30 people for lunch a couple of times a week, and this got a perfect review from everyone! I served it with one inch cut and baked asparagus and quadrupled the chicken. Excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Purcellville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I really liked this dish. I cut down the spice to 1 Tbs. hot sauce and 1/8 tsp. red pepper flakes. I think I will add some red bell pepper and maybe some green onions next time for a little crisp veggie texture. I used reduced sodium tamari and thought the salt content was just right with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Loved it! Even the ones in my family who don't eat mangoes likes it. My hubby got seconds, and he is one who is really picky about texture. I did double the sweet potatoes, and added an extra half of mango cause that's what I had on hand. Cause my kids don't like spicy, I only put 1 tbsp of hot sauce and added a little honey to my daughter's plate. I had some leftover rice which I served on the side, but good with or without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
noone in myfam liked this recipe. i followed it step by step and didnt change a thing. i will never be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I would give this 4-1/2 stars. . . It was a perfect blend of sweet & spice! I goofed & already had diced fresh mango mixed with diced fresh tomatoes, so my version included tomatoes. I also added a tad of onion cooked with the garlic. I doubled the amount of garlic (we love it), and only used a few splashes hot sauce. I did use a generation pinch of red pepper flakes. I also added in a pinch of ground ginger & cumin. It was very runny, but I didn't serve it over rice (didn't think I would need 2 carbs. . . potatoes & rice). . .I thought wrong. . . definitely serve over rice. I may cut down the liquid slightly the next time I make it, but I will be making this again! Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honduras Missionary Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazán, Honduras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
great recipe! I also added some green veggies, like asparagus for a beautifully colored dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Very tasty and unique! I skipped the hot sauce since we don't keep any on hand, but I did add a few dashes of ginger for increased flavor. Served with the Garlic Lime Asparagus from this site. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by youngwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Fantastic! I put a few dashes of hot sauce and that was plenty for my family. Thank you for sharing this recipe - we will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
It had potential based on the list of ingredients, but 6 tbs of tamari overpowered the other flavors and made the whole dish VERY salty. I couldn't even finish it. I would definitely cut back to 3 tbs of tamari if I made it again. Also, it was plenty spicy using about a 1/3 of the hot sauce and a generous dash of pepper flakes. It also could have used more mango and something green, like broccoli perhaps. Not sure if I'll try making it again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Aurora, New York, USA
Living In: Barboursville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States