Spicy Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This was awesome...but, I only used the recipe as a guide. I diced up one mango, one peach, and used one small can of pineapple tidbits, two scallions, half of a jalapeno pepper, diced very small, one teaspoon of minced garlic from the jar,a sprinkle or two of ground ginger, about a teaspoon of dried cilantro, half fresh lime juice and half pineapple juice (from the tidbits can) to equal 1/4 cup...mixed all together and let it sit in the fridge for about 2 hours. Made chicken tenderloins on the George Forman, then cooked in skillet with teriyaki sauce to heat. After chicken was done...heated salsa in micro for 1 minute, poured over chicken. Served with teriyaki rice and green beans...WAS AWESOME!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLFANCHICK1027

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
I would've given this salsa at least 4 stars, if it had not been for the overpowering taste of the grated ginger. The ginger taste was too strong for the delicate flavors of the peaches and mangoes. I'll try this one again, minus the ginger...then it will be great! Also, half the recipe is *more* than enough for my family of three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
Absolutely wonderful. I did not use the basil or ginger root but did put in cilantro. I love the sweet hot taste of the salsa. I diffinately am hooked on mango salsa. Thanks for the recipe. I made extra salsa and froze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
This is a fabulous, quick and easy salsa that will impress your guests. However, it makes more than enough and does not keep well, as it gains exponentially in potency. Making half is still plenty for twelve people. I served mine in half of a hollowed out pineapple, as a side to terriyaki pork and salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
Excellent! Might add a habanero next time..:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
This is very good, however I juiced it up a bit with a 2tablespoons of fresh OJ, two green onions and 1/4 cup of cilantro, what with me being from Texas and all I had to double up on the peppers. But it is very nice as an appetizer with chips and beer for a nice stuffed pork chopped dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Worthy of 4 stars with slight modification. Like another reviewer suggested -- over-gingered! A little goes a long way, so add ginger sequentially to taste. Fresh produce is mandatory. The spiciness is pepper dependent, just like garlic varieties -- so sample to know your ingredients. This makes a large quantity (10 servings) and you need to eat it while fresh. We used it as a side dish to Jay's jerk chicken (on this site) and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
This is an excellent recipe. I added pineapple and mixed pineapple juice to the lime juice. This Salsa is VERY spicy. Next time I will dull it down and use less garlic and ginger. Overall, very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
Served this dish with Tuna Sandwiches for a lunch with unexpected visit with relatives. They loved it, took the recipe home with them. Has a nice, fresh crunch taste to it, with the peppers. Different, too. Definitely a Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
Looks strange on paper, but it's delicious! I always use powdered ginger in place of fresh, just a personal preference, and I reduced the peppers just a bit. The sweet-hot taste is wonderful with simple grilled fish, etc. But unless you're going to eat a lot of it (not a bad thought) I would reduce the recipe - the longer it sits, the HOTTER it gets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States