Spicy Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
Very nice indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
Yawn...this just wasn't a big hit at my house. I was so excited to try something with mangos since I'd never had any before. I received tips from the Produce Manager on picking them out. Since fresh peaches are not in season here in Oklahoma, I had to use peaches from a fruit cup. Maybe that's what was wrong. I used fresh giner and cilantro. I also added some green onion, and a tiny bit of pineapple. Instead of using both seranno peppers I used 1 banana pepper in place of 1 serrano to keep it from being so hot. I pureed in the blender because we like salsa that way, and I think it blends all the tastes together. Anyway, it was just "okay". If I ever make this again it will have to be in peak peach season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
Served this dish with Tuna Sandwiches for a lunch with unexpected visit with relatives. They loved it, took the recipe home with them. Has a nice, fresh crunch taste to it, with the peppers. Different, too. Definitely a Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
Looks strange on paper, but it's delicious! I always use powdered ginger in place of fresh, just a personal preference, and I reduced the peppers just a bit. The sweet-hot taste is wonderful with simple grilled fish, etc. But unless you're going to eat a lot of it (not a bad thought) I would reduce the recipe - the longer it sits, the HOTTER it gets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
Great salsa! The flavors marry well together! Try to get the mango that's really ripe. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
Very good! Used half the ginger. This dish served well with Jay's Jerk Chicken and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
I added tomato and onion which ended up with a nice mixture of flavors. Very tasty. Loved the sweetness of the fruit with the other ingredients. Used salsa with chips and also as a topping to a cajun catfish recipe. It was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curly girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This was awesome...but, I only used the recipe as a guide. I diced up one mango, one peach, and used one small can of pineapple tidbits, two scallions, half of a jalapeno pepper, diced very small, one teaspoon of minced garlic from the jar,a sprinkle or two of ground ginger, about a teaspoon of dried cilantro, half fresh lime juice and half pineapple juice (from the tidbits can) to equal 1/4 cup...mixed all together and let it sit in the fridge for about 2 hours. Made chicken tenderloins on the George Forman, then cooked in skillet with teriyaki sauce to heat. After chicken was done...heated salsa in micro for 1 minute, poured over chicken. Served with teriyaki rice and green beans...WAS AWESOME!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLFANCHICK1027

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
I have made this twice so far for different parties and it has been a success both times. I serve this with sweet potato chips and it's really great. I used jalepeno instead of serano and it's still hot enough. This is a keeper for something unique and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
whoa batman - too hot. i don't know if my peppers & ginger were spicier than the recipe owner gets - but i would start with half and move upwards, unless you're planning on a tablespoon heaped upon a meat dish - i served this as a dip and it sure kept the drinks moving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States