Spicy Lime Grilled Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
The flavor wasn't bad but boy was it SALTY. I highly recommend if you don't want to drink a gallon of water when you are done, to mix your own. We served it with some chili sauce to offset the salt and heat with only 2TBS of mix....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMS2010

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Next time I will do as other reviers suggested and decrease the amount of cajun spice. I used Weber brand and it was quite spicy. I added extra lime juice, but I still didn't taste it. Next time, I will increase the lime juice to try and get some of the flavor. Mabye it was just overtaken by the spice. Overall, it was OK, I wasn't impressed, but it wasn't bad either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CardsFan4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Very good, wouldnt change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Eh. This was "OK." Nothing special, IMHO. If I were awarding stars for ease of preparation, I'd definitely give this a 5. I am rating based on flavor, so I can only give 3. During the work week, I'm always on the lookout for quick-fix recipes. This was exactly what I was looking for. I pretty much followed Kim's directions to a T, except for two things - I decreased the cajun seasoning (Emeril's Essence) by 1 T and I marinated for 12 hours (put everything in a large Zip-lock bag before I left my house at 7 AM). When I got to work, I panicked thinking that I ruined dinner becasue either a) my shrimp would be too spicy due to sitting in the marinade all day or b) the lime juice would "cook" my shrimp (I've heard that you should only marinate seafood / acidic ingredients for 30 minutes MAX, but at the last minute, decided to try out this theory myself lol). Neither happened (thank God!). My fiance warmed the coals on our Weber just before I got home, so all I had to do was thread skewers, prepare our rice side dish (Zataran's garlic & herb), crack open a bag of tortilla chips and store-bought guacamole and mix up some frozen margaritas (yummm...)! Thanks for sharing this no-fuss meal idea, Kimmy. I'm not sure this will make a repeat at my house, but I'm glad to have given it a try nonetheless. At least we had a decent meal to fill our tummies! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Delicious! Made my own Cajun seasoning, and it was still really easy. Served over rice, squeezed more lime on upon serving. Great summer dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
We like spicy food, but I thought the amount of Cajun seasoning in this recipe would be way too much. So, I used half of the amount indicated and my end result was more like 3 stars - serves me right for not following the recipe. It really needed that extra pizzazz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Made these for our 4th of July cookout and got rave reviews! Emeril's Essence makes everything taste so much better! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noemi - No way is she a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Living In: Paramount, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Very tasty!! Like another reviewer suggested, pick a Cajun seasoning you like! I tried Weber's New Orleans Cajun and found 3 tbls was a bit much, will probably reduce it 1 tbls next time. I was also anticipating to taste more lime, which is why I gave it 4 stars. Otherwise, very tasty, simple and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I loved this! I used a spicy salt and added some fresh minced garlic and it was heavenly! I found that I wanted a little more marinade for mine, but that might be because we used bigger shrimp than it calls for, but in less quantity. I will try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
My cajun spice is really spicy so 3 Tbsp was too spicy. Also, I love lime but the lime wasn't jiving with the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States