Spicy Lime-Cilantro Marinated Flank Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This is an excellent recipe for Flank Steak. To the reviewer who said it was too chunky - you obviously didn't puree the ingredients properly because the definition of puree is a thick liquid suspension made from cooked food ground finely. If Flank Steak is cut across the grain it won't be tough unless you overcooked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This marinade is a good start but it needs something more to give it a more complex flavor. All we tasted were onions and cilantro. Maybe it needs more honey since we couldn't even tell there was any sweetness at all. Way too chunky from the onions and garlic even after being pureed. Overall, not a bad start, it just needs something more - and why use corn oil when olive oil is so much better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim A

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Yielded a very juicy, herby-tasting meat, quite good. Would suggest scoring the meat before marinating to allow it to penetrate further, and make sure you cut properly against the grain -- didn't do that and oops, that's a chewy meat for fajitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
My family LOVED this marinade! Where I changed things: 1) I forgot to buy fresh thyme so I used 1Tbs of dried and 2) my limes were kinda small so I used three. Some of the reserved sauce is in the fridge and I'm thinking it would be good on veggie wraps this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Not only does it smell great but it tastes great too. I had friends over and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Awesome recipe! We loved it. I used it for fajitas and it was excellent. The best fajitas I had ever made at home! I didn't reserve any of the sauce, just poured it all in the bag and let it marinate over night. The only change I made was that I didn't have any thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
really good. gave it 4 stars but with my addition`s1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Had a big party made this marinade with chicken breasts added some chillies and extra jalapenos also did half and half Cilantro and Garam Masala .....Everybody loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Keflavík, Suðurnes, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
There is nothing better than a flank steak grilled medium-rare on the BBQ but this recipe ruined an otherwise great piece of meat in my opinion. All we tasted was the onions and it make the meat tough. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Very, very vibrant and fresh flavors. I served this with a saffron rice pilaf and everyone was spooning more of the marinade to mix and eat with their rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States