Spicy Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by happygirlof5
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Very good and basic recipe. I will make again but will use a little more carrot and celery. My husband is vegan so I of course used vegetable broth rather than chicken. I also added a pinch of allspice and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happygirlof5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Very hearty soup, but I added a little more carrots to it, and a few diced potatoes. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VLWilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This was very simple and easy to make. It is very filling and nutritional. I would probably add more spices since I like it on the spicy side and I added some curry powder in as well to give it more of an exotic taste. Definitely a good go to soup that I can make with things I usually have around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kuter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Added 1/2 tbsp of lemon juice and can of diced tomatoes with oregano and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Holy cow this turned out good! The recipe doesn't specify but I used the tiny French green lentils instead of red or brown, I didn't have chicken stock on hand so used water and chicken bouillon cubes. This was terrific. I added a dash more red pepper for extra bite. I also had some smoked sausage that I cubed and browned with the veggies but it would have still been fabulous without it. This recipe is simple and so good. I looked at other recipes before settling on this one, this has general items most people have on hand, no need for white wine or some of the other stuff the other recipes ask for, I plan to make this again! Thanks for sharing a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
YUM! I used yellow lentils and extra veggies. Also, I'm not a fan of crushed red pepper so I used cayenne and chili pepper. I'm crushing bowls of this stuff even in 80 degree weather... it's just that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laticia Joyce Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I made this recipe but only had red lentils.I used vegie stock and added a few bay leaves and instead of tomato pastes I had a can of fire roasted diced tomato and blended omatoes in blender just a bit.I took this to church and everyone wanted recipe .they even wanted it for the bulletin.the red lentils make a the difference because I made it again with brown lentils and did not taste near as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
this took MUCH longer than 20 minutes for the lentils to soften. I am making it now, and I am about to go over the 40 minute mark
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States