Spicy Lentil Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
i made this dip using low fat spray oil,it turned out really nice,i love it! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
YUM! We like things spicy so I used 1 tsp each of hot and mild curry. I also added 1 tbsp of coriander seeds thanks to suggestions from the reviews AND, as also suggested, I did not use all the liquid or it definitely would have been too soupy. I put in my food processor and added the liquid a little at a time until I got a good, thick dip consistency. I think I ony used half of the reserved liquid. And I also added a little onion salt. It's a good recipe to play with and make your own but is it good? YES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
We liked this recipe. I added about a teaspoon of ground coriander, which added to the flavor a little. I recommend draining the lentils a little before blending to make it less soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
A healty recipe with a great flavour, and a bit of spice. The lentils may need a shorter or longer cooking time depending on the brand used, and draining and reserving the liquid probably isn't a bad idea either. This smelled so good while I was making it that we started into it before our guests even arrived!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This is a keeper! I added a bouillon cube to the water when cooking the lentils and did not bother to mash them since they had already cooked down quite a bit. It did need a bit of salt, but it is good. Maybe not as a dip, but I enjoy it as a light and easy meal with some bread (or just a spoon!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
i replaced the curry with coriander and it came out smelling and tasting fantastic! i make this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
I tried this recipe, and found it to be quite okay. I say this because I tried to do it in a rush, almost doubling the recipe, and eyeballing most of the measurments. All things considered, it was good! Next time, I'll be more careful in my measurements! My suggestions: Drain the water and hold it in reserve, that way you don't end up with spicy lentil soup - especially if you use canned lentils. I was going to give it 3 stars, but I'm going with 4, because I think it's growing on me! Well done, Noni!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Dog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I liked this a lot, although my husband didn't seem too keen on it. You will probably want to add salt. I added at least 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This recipe was ok for me, although I altered it a little. I had had a leftover lentil salad that didn't go over real well with my boyfriend, so this was a great way to do something with the leftovers (plus it took less than 10 minutes to make). The mixture was a little thick for my blender, so I dribbled in some chicken stock to thin it out a little. I also added more cumin than the recipe called for because I love cumin so much, and I added a bit more garlic. My girlfriends loved it and so did I. I also got rid of the leftover lentil salad without having to throw it out and waste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
This dish never found it's way to the table but promptly to the trash can! I gave myself a birthday party where I featured all international cuisine. I got some great recipes from you guys...lucky for me I had a pretty big selection of food. At first I thought it was me, but I had a few friends taste it,...they didn't even SWALLOW! ...Sorry, Noni....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States