Spicy Lentil Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This needed salt and was too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Love it! Great recipe, and very easy to make. Although the adjustments I made upped it to 5 stars, it's a good recipe as is. I preferred to add a little salt, and I threw it all in the blender instead of stirring whole seeds into my dip. I wanted something super smooth and very low fat, and this fits the bill! I tripled the recipe, leaving the cayenne at the same amount, as well as the oil, and it worked beautifully. It's got just enough spice and a nice hint of heat that my children approve of. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Be sure to RINSE the lentils first. I have a blue bazillion pounds of red lentils, and am always looking for ways to use them up. This was wonderful! Even the kidlets enjoyed it. Also delicious as a spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This dip is delicious. I followed the recipe fairly closely, only using olive oil instead of vegetable and making a crushed red chili pepper/paprika substitution for the cayenne pepper, as I didn't have any. I did not add salt (nor would I say it needs any) and used all the liquid. I tried the dip after mixing it all together and felt it wasn't quite what I wanted. I added about a teaspoon of lemon juice and that did it for me. Who needs chips? I could eat this with a spoon! Four stars for the dip before the lemon juice, five for easy prep and with the difference the lemon juice made. Thanks for sharing a great recipe, Noni!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Very good, like a Mediterranean guacamole! I had 2 cups of steamed lentils already on hand, so my preparation varied from the recipe. Like another reviewer, I sautéed a chopped onion for 5 minutes in veg. oil, added the spices and cooked for another 2 minutes, then added 4 cloves of minced garlic for the final minute. Cut back a bit on the cayenne and added 1/2 tsp of salt, 1.5 tsp ground coriander and a dash of ground ginger in the spice mixture. Combined everything in a blender and added chicken broth... you may want 1 to 1.5 cups depending on the consistency you're after. Let it chill and the spices soak in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was only ok. Luckily I made a small batch because my husband didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VILAINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
i would add salt to this . the heat that this dip gives is great . not a bad dip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKbroiler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham Region, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is my second time makeing this recipe. It's a great alternative to hummus, was getting really tired of hummus. Only used 2 cups of water as I found the first time I made the recipe it was to runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Loved it! I added about a tablespoon of cumin with the curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This recipe is turned out pretty well, ONLY after I altered it. I followed all of the measurements and cooking instructions exactly, but I was left with really bland tasting goop. So, I added: just under 1 tbsp of fresh lemon juice, a bunch of sea salt, and another 1 tsp of curry. Now it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States