Spicy Lentil Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This needed salt and was too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Love it! Great recipe, and very easy to make. Although the adjustments I made upped it to 5 stars, it's a good recipe as is. I preferred to add a little salt, and I threw it all in the blender instead of stirring whole seeds into my dip. I wanted something super smooth and very low fat, and this fits the bill! I tripled the recipe, leaving the cayenne at the same amount, as well as the oil, and it worked beautifully. It's got just enough spice and a nice hint of heat that my children approve of. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Be sure to RINSE the lentils first. I have a blue bazillion pounds of red lentils, and am always looking for ways to use them up. This was wonderful! Even the kidlets enjoyed it. Also delicious as a spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This dip is delicious. I followed the recipe fairly closely, only using olive oil instead of vegetable and making a crushed red chili pepper/paprika substitution for the cayenne pepper, as I didn't have any. I did not add salt (nor would I say it needs any) and used all the liquid. I tried the dip after mixing it all together and felt it wasn't quite what I wanted. I added about a teaspoon of lemon juice and that did it for me. Who needs chips? I could eat this with a spoon! Four stars for the dip before the lemon juice, five for easy prep and with the difference the lemon juice made. Thanks for sharing a great recipe, Noni!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Very good, like a Mediterranean guacamole! I had 2 cups of steamed lentils already on hand, so my preparation varied from the recipe. Like another reviewer, I sautéed a chopped onion for 5 minutes in veg. oil, added the spices and cooked for another 2 minutes, then added 4 cloves of minced garlic for the final minute. Cut back a bit on the cayenne and added 1/2 tsp of salt, 1.5 tsp ground coriander and a dash of ground ginger in the spice mixture. Combined everything in a blender and added chicken broth... you may want 1 to 1.5 cups depending on the consistency you're after. Let it chill and the spices soak in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was only ok. Luckily I made a small batch because my husband didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VILAINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
i would add salt to this . the heat that this dip gives is great . not a bad dip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKbroiler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham Region, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is my second time makeing this recipe. It's a great alternative to hummus, was getting really tired of hummus. Only used 2 cups of water as I found the first time I made the recipe it was to runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Loved it! I added about a tablespoon of cumin with the curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This recipe is turned out pretty well, ONLY after I altered it. I followed all of the measurements and cooking instructions exactly, but I was left with really bland tasting goop. So, I added: just under 1 tbsp of fresh lemon juice, a bunch of sea salt, and another 1 tsp of curry. Now it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States