Spicy Layered Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I really loved this recipe! I did follow some of the suggestions in the reviews. I drained the salsa and the jalapenos, and I also added half a package of taco seasoning to the sour cream. The only other changes I made (personal preference, and I had the ingredients on hand) were I added lime juice and chopped fresh cilantro to the bean layer, and chopped green onions to the sour cream layer. I don't know that those changes were necessary, or that they improved the flavor of the dip. I just thought I would try it. I think the dip would be wonderful as is. However, as one of the reviewers said, the dip is a great base for experimenting as well. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timsands10

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurel, Montana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Yummy tasting and easy... the way I like dip recipes! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Excellent! I added some of Penzey's Taco Seasoning to the sour cream, to taste, and left out the jalapeños. Leftovers made incredible burritos the next day, wrapped in tortillas, covered in Frontera Enchilada Sauce, and baked at 350 for 30 minutes, then to 250 to keep warm until ready to serve. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I didn't have black beans, but used extra refried beans. This was a big hit because it is so good looking. I sprinkled some chopped green onions and tomatoes on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Just made this for a last-minute quick meal. Substituted a small can of diced tomatoes with jalapenos, drained, for the salsa, and used drained banana peppers in place of the can of diced jalapenos (used ingredients I had on hand). DELICIOUS! I probably could have drained the tomatoes and the banana peppers more thoroughly, as I had a bit of juice in the bottom of the casserole. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I make this for every potluck dinner we are invited to. We love spicy so I use fresh jalapenos and hot salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Great,,,could have eaten the whole thing myself. I did not add the jalapenos and did chopped olives on top. Was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo Marino Rhodes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, New York, USA
Living In: Sharpsburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This was really good, however next time I wont add the olives. I love olives, but not sure they were needed with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Rave reviews on Super Bowl Day! Only complaint is that the leftovers were not as yummy as when just made. Forget the frig!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
AMAZING!!!!! This recipe is great with or without its spicy/hot elements. I did substitute Zoi brand plain Greek yogurt for the sour cream. It did taste a little bit salty (everyone else said it was fine). So I would recommend, if you can, to make your own salsa and re-fried beans to control the salt. Also I used a 2-quart cooking dish (since there isn't one defined in the recipe) and had to use a little bit more than the measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States