Spicy Lamb Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
I made these to grill on a charcoal grill and they were terrific! The only change I made was to add about 1 tbsp. of paprika in order to give the juice a more 'red' color as I was trying to get something close to what we eat when we go to our favorite Turkish restaurant. The flavor was excellent! Next time I think I will spice them more liberally since we are spicy food people, but really, the (amount of) spices called for in the recipe worked very well. We will definintely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
These were good but I did make a few changes. First I used a fresh green chili pepper instead of the dried chili flakes and it gave it a nice, subtle heat. I added an egg to help hold everything together. Also instead of the curry powder I added paprika, adding a nice smoky flavor. I added 2 minced mushrooms as well because they needed to be used and they give the patties a nice texture and I think they helped keep them moist on the inside. I served these with couscous with toasted pine nuts and I wilted some spinach and cabbage in the pan I cooked the patties in and it gave the greens a really nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazdyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Super tasty, hubby and I both loved it. We broiled it because we're doing a specific diet where we can't fry things and we live in upstate NY so grilling is pretty much out of the question this time of year. It still came out really yummy. Be sure to add salt and pepper before cooking or it'll be a little bland and you'll have to add it later. Served it on a plate with modified Avocado Tzatzi sauce (recipe on this site), brown rice and leftover savory butternut squash. Awesome meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
wow...these are soooo good! I made them into meatballs and cooked them stove-top then put them in the oven for a bit and baked them. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This was very similarly spiced to a dish at my favorite Indian restaurant. I did up the spice slightly, since so many other reviewers suggested it. I also tried the yogurt sauce, and it was an authentic accompanyment to the lamb. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
These are more like lamb burgers! I made some yogurt dill sauce to go with. They were a big hit at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I never would have bought ground lamb but finally did because it looked nice and it was very cheap. Searched the net for something that looked appealing, and lucked into this. I backed off a bit on the amount of cumin and curry because it seemed to me it was too much. WRONG! Will make again for sure with recipe intact. Found fresh mint sauce recipe and used that to dip in and I was in heaven, and can't wait to make again with full amounts of curry and cumin. I never find what I consider a perfect recipe, but this one is perfect. New found favorite. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Very easy, tasty way with ground lamb. I served in a pita with tomato, lettuce and mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Delicious... I added fresh chopped cilantro, substituted red onions and green, and threw in an egg for moisture. Yum! Next time, I'll add a bit more salt, but overall, very tasty. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
We did not like these at all. They tasted gamey. Maybe that is how ground lamb is suppose to taste or maybe it was a problem with our ground lamb. I can't bear to serve the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States