Spicy Korean Slow Cooked Chicken (Dhak Dori Tang) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
The smell and taste of this and instantly brought back feelings from my childhood. I can't explain it but it envoked so much emotion to me. What is even more odd is my mother never made this dish. Thank you for such a food experience. As to note the actual recipe. I made this exact with all the ingedients. Next time I will scale back to 2 tablespoons pepper paste and 1/2 teaspoon rep pepper flake. Also please try to go buy the gochujang. It is what makes the dish just right, gives it a nice depth with a little heat and it's own kind of slight sweet note. You will not find the same flavor in other sauces. You can pick up a small jar at a Korean market for around three dollars. Just make sure it is a deep red and it will look like tooth paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Loved it and easy to make.I added mushrooms to the receipe and cut the chili to just 2 tablespoons, it was just as spicy. Husband and I very much enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Simple, fast, tasty, spicy - sold. It will become a staple. One of the better things I've done with chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
My husband said this was the best thing that I've made for him in the 13 years we've been married :) I did make the following changes, however: I had a whole roaster chicken, which I cut up and used for this recipe the wings, thighs, drumsticks and a few small pieces of breast (I used the whole breast for a different, non spicy recipe). I left the chicken pieces on the bone and trimmed the skin on them and then browned in batches in 1tbsp of canola oil. I removed the chicken and added the vegetables to the pan to soften, switching out the potatoes for 3 stalks of celery since I planned to serve this over rice. When the vegetables were soft I added Srirarcha (didn't have the gochujang but would like to try in the future) and the chili pepper flakes and stirred for a minute. I added the water and soy sauce then nestles the chicken pieces in the vegetables, covered and simmered for about 25 minutes, turning occasionally. I didn't add salt since I was using regular soy sauce. definitely a keeper, and am sure my hubby will insist I make it again. Will try the gochujang at some point too. As a note, my husband is from Nigeria and likes spicy food, usually adding hot sauce to everything and he didn't have to the way I made this, so note if you like spicy or want to reduce the heat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Prepared as directed and it was great! *Very* spicy. My wife and I loved it that way, the kids devoured it but said it was a bit too spicy. No leftovers. The second time we prepared it we prepared two batches. The first was prepared exactly as before. Yum! The second was prepared in the same pan as the first but without adding *any* crushed red pepper. Any pepper was left from the first batch. Much milder for the kiddos. The only leftovers were barely enough for lunch the next day. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Really enjoyed this recipe--changed the cooking methods a little; I pan-fried the chicken until crisp and golden, then added the soy sauce and let it cook through. The veggies I did separately (omitting the onion) in a fry-pan; I cooked them with the seasonings in a little bit of water until they were soft and cooked through. I like to use Rocoto chile paste (available in Mexican food stores); it is really spicy, but doesn't overpower the other flavors in the meal. Thanks!! We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This was delicious! I've never had this dish before so I don't know how authentic it was but I really loved it. I only used 1Tbsp crushed red pepper and I didn't have gochujang, so I used 2 Tbsp Thai Chili Garlic Paste. I was glad I cut the heat a little, it still had plenty of kick! I served it with rice but it would have been great without it. Delicious...will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I basically browned up the chicken a bit then dumped everything else in. Used baby carrots. No salt. 1/4 cup Korean soy with kelp. Probably more than a cup of water because it thickened up and needed it. Kimchi on the side. It's like a stew/chili. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
picture stirfry turned stew. this is very yummy and spicy. i added red peppers and brocolli for some colour and vitamins. we seved it over basmati rice. i will definatly make this again. if you have a cold or just want to be cozy, this is the meal for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Great meal. Will cook this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States