Spicy Korean Slow Cooked Chicken (Dhak Dori Tang) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Overall this is tasty and received good reviews from the family, but next time would cut the soy sauce in half (it is very salty otherwise) and add some greens - bok choy, green beans - to make this a one-pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Imade this last night. I cut back slightly on the flakes and the paste since it was the first time. I added more when it was done. It was very good. My kids, 5 and 9 and hubby loved it. Made with sushi rice. MMMMMmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grayslake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I basically browned up the chicken a bit then dumped everything else in. Used baby carrots. No salt. 1/4 cup Korean soy with kelp. Probably more than a cup of water because it thickened up and needed it. Kimchi on the side. It's like a stew/chili. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Great meal. Will cook this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This was delicious! I've never had this dish before so I don't know how authentic it was but I really loved it. I only used 1Tbsp crushed red pepper and I didn't have gochujang, so I used 2 Tbsp Thai Chili Garlic Paste. I was glad I cut the heat a little, it still had plenty of kick! I served it with rice but it would have been great without it. Delicious...will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
picture stirfry turned stew. this is very yummy and spicy. i added red peppers and brocolli for some colour and vitamins. we seved it over basmati rice. i will definatly make this again. if you have a cold or just want to be cozy, this is the meal for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Very good, quick and simple meal that I will make again. As the description stated, this one is very spicy. I cut back a little on the crushed red pepper flakes, and I did not have the Korean hot pepper paste but used the hunan red chili sauce that I had instead. Also, I knew I would want sticky rice with this dish (in my opinion you must eat this with rice) so I omitted the potatoes and threw in some celery. I just didn't see us eating potatoes and rice. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This was pretty good. I cut back slightly on the red pepper and the paste, but would probably follow the recommended amounts next time. I did add a little more water and some red and yellow bell pepper. I also used low sodium soy sauce and didn't add any additional salt. Good reviews from my dinner companions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Prepared as directed and it was great! *Very* spicy. My wife and I loved it that way, the kids devoured it but said it was a bit too spicy. No leftovers. The second time we prepared it we prepared two batches. The first was prepared exactly as before. Yum! The second was prepared in the same pan as the first but without adding *any* crushed red pepper. Any pepper was left from the first batch. Much milder for the kiddos. The only leftovers were barely enough for lunch the next day. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
The smell and taste of this and instantly brought back feelings from my childhood. I can't explain it but it envoked so much emotion to me. What is even more odd is my mother never made this dish. Thank you for such a food experience. As to note the actual recipe. I made this exact with all the ingedients. Next time I will scale back to 2 tablespoons pepper paste and 1/2 teaspoon rep pepper flake. Also please try to go buy the gochujang. It is what makes the dish just right, gives it a nice depth with a little heat and it's own kind of slight sweet note. You will not find the same flavor in other sauces. You can pick up a small jar at a Korean market for around three dollars. Just make sure it is a deep red and it will look like tooth paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States