Spicy Korean Slow Cooked Chicken (Dhak Dori Tang) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Fantastic recipe! The only thing I did was different was with the paste. Couldn't find the Korean paste so bought the Sriachi brand chili paste. I liked this paste because instead of sugar being the 1st ingredient, chili peppers are. It made for a spicy, delicious dish. I was afraid the veggies wouldn't be tender and it looked like surely more liquid would be needed, but that's not the case! Just cover and it will be perfection when it's done. I can't rave enough about this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I make this for my husband who is a bit spice averse and he loves it and yes it is an authentic dish! To help cut the spice I add about a tablespoon of honey and always serve it with white rice. You can also cut back on the gochujang and really don't need the red pepper flakes. Keeping the potato really helps cut some spice too. I've never done this in the slow cooker so I look forward to trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tokee
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Made This tonight the family LOVED IT ! I did make a couple of changes I added celery and mushrooms and instead of water used chicken broth. Will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
My husband said this was the best thing that I've made for him in the 13 years we've been married :) I did make the following changes, however: I had a whole roaster chicken, which I cut up and used for this recipe the wings, thighs, drumsticks and a few small pieces of breast (I used the whole breast for a different, non spicy recipe). I left the chicken pieces on the bone and trimmed the skin on them and then browned in batches in 1tbsp of canola oil. I removed the chicken and added the vegetables to the pan to soften, switching out the potatoes for 3 stalks of celery since I planned to serve this over rice. When the vegetables were soft I added Srirarcha (didn't have the gochujang but would like to try in the future) and the chili pepper flakes and stirred for a minute. I added the water and soy sauce then nestles the chicken pieces in the vegetables, covered and simmered for about 25 minutes, turning occasionally. I didn't add salt since I was using regular soy sauce. definitely a keeper, and am sure my hubby will insist I make it again. Will try the gochujang at some point too. As a note, my husband is from Nigeria and likes spicy food, usually adding hot sauce to everything and he didn't have to the way I made this, so note if you like spicy or want to reduce the heat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Prepared as directed and it was great! *Very* spicy. My wife and I loved it that way, the kids devoured it but said it was a bit too spicy. No leftovers. The second time we prepared it we prepared two batches. The first was prepared exactly as before. Yum! The second was prepared in the same pan as the first but without adding *any* crushed red pepper. Any pepper was left from the first batch. Much milder for the kiddos. The only leftovers were barely enough for lunch the next day. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Delicious and so easy! Unfortunately, I didn't have any gochujang so had to use sriracha and added a little sugar. It was still fantastic, but I'll have to pick up some gochujang and try again and experience it as it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Simple, fast, tasty, spicy - sold. It will become a staple. One of the better things I've done with chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Really enjoyed this recipe--changed the cooking methods a little; I pan-fried the chicken until crisp and golden, then added the soy sauce and let it cook through. The veggies I did separately (omitting the onion) in a fry-pan; I cooked them with the seasonings in a little bit of water until they were soft and cooked through. I like to use Rocoto chile paste (available in Mexican food stores); it is really spicy, but doesn't overpower the other flavors in the meal. Thanks!! We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
The smell and taste of this and instantly brought back feelings from my childhood. I can't explain it but it envoked so much emotion to me. What is even more odd is my mother never made this dish. Thank you for such a food experience. As to note the actual recipe. I made this exact with all the ingedients. Next time I will scale back to 2 tablespoons pepper paste and 1/2 teaspoon rep pepper flake. Also please try to go buy the gochujang. It is what makes the dish just right, gives it a nice depth with a little heat and it's own kind of slight sweet note. You will not find the same flavor in other sauces. You can pick up a small jar at a Korean market for around three dollars. Just make sure it is a deep red and it will look like tooth paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Loved it and easy to make.I added mushrooms to the receipe and cut the chili to just 2 tablespoons, it was just as spicy. Husband and I very much enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States