Spicy Korean Red Pepper Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Authentic and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This was awesome! Cucumber kimchi is my favorite! I already had toasted sesame seeds so I skipped the first step. I also used apple cider vinegar instead because that is what my mom always uses when she cooks Korean food and added a pinch of sugar, or "sweetness" as my mom calls it. It was very easy to make and really tastes like the real thing! **I just wanted to say that kochujong isn't really a hot sauce, it is hot pepper paste...just thought this might help people who are looking for it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessicca

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This was very good even though I made changes to it. I couldn't find Korean hot sauce so I used Frank's hot sauce. I also used a yellow onion instead of green. I also added 1 tsp of sugar as suggested by another member. I liked the contrast of flavors between the hot sauce and the sesame oil. This dressing was not too spicy, which I also liked. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I also wanted to add a note. To make it really authentic you can rinse your cucumbers after you slice them and sprinkle them with a pinch of salt for 10 minutes to wilt them a litte before you use them. I prefer mine a little more juicy, but my boyfriend likes them that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anglica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I was looking for another side dish recipe for a Korean meal and this was perfect. Great recipe! I followed it almost exactly - I used apple cider vinegar and added a bit of sugar. I'd recommend either halving the sauce ingredients, or adding another cucumber, as this is quite saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
this recipe is yummmmy! I love, love,love cucumber kimchi. It's not quite my grandmonther's quality, but it still rocked and was super close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gustavo'sCupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Rucker, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I substituted srihacha hot sauce instead of korean hot sauce, and cilantro for green onion. Exellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPICY MAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This is very good!! I did follow another reviewer and added 1 Tbs of sugar. You HAVE to use sesame oil because I think that's what make this soooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Excellent!!! The only thing that I recommend is to cut the vinegar in half. Also, salt the cucumbers and let them sit to "sweat them out", rinse before coating with the dressing. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spicer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Delicious delicious delicious!! I have has this recipe in my faves forever waiting to go to the Asian superman
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States