Spicy Jalapeno Chicken Sausage with Mango, Pineapple Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
My family LOVES this recipe! My husband likes to call it "RQ"...anything he thinks is "restaurant quality" gets that rating! However, I have yet to make this with jalapeno chicken sausage because I haven't been able to get it, so I substitute Chipotle seasoned turkey sausage and it is still good. I also substituted black beans for the black soybeans. Some day if I can find the jalapeno chicken sausage, I will give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
My husband (always the skeptic with my new creations) really, REALLY liked this! The only thing I would do differently would be to make my salsa ahead of time to allow it to blend the flavors a bit more (I made my own right before making the recipe.) Also, next time I'll add more jalapeno to it for some more kick (I didn't use the jalapeno chicken sausage, as I couldn't find it. I used plain ole chicken sausage, so there wasn't much heat.) Travis (the skeptic) suggested a squirt of lime juice to freshen it up and it was incredibly good. This is a GREAT summer dish - very filling, but light. I couldn't find black soybeans, so plain ole black beans had to stand in. Overall, easy and good for a nice weeknight meal. And yes, the leftovers are anxiously awaiting my consumption for lunch today. Hehe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This was delicious!!! I used fresh sun dried tomato basil chicken sausage from whole foods. I just cooked it in the oven about 25 mins. since it was uncooked then proceeded with the pan frying. I sliced it thinner too. I have never heard of black soy beans so I just used a regular can of black beans. 1 1/2 cups of salsa sounds like a lot but I found out it's really needed for moisture. The mango kind of mushes up when you eat it in comparison to the pineapple...it's just a texture thing but it didn't bother me. Great flavor and super easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naynayrk
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This recipe was excellent! I bought some fresh jalapeno chicken sausage from a local market and was looking for something different to cook for dinner...I found this recipe and was not disappointed! Everything tasted so fresh and was so easy to put together. I served this with couscous instead of rice just based on personal preference. It would have been great with rice as well! This was a very filling meal! I served it with grilled vegetables. The mango and pineapple tasted amazing! Not too sweet, not too overpowering! Love love LOVED this and will be making it again! Can't wait for my leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I make this recipe once a week! I cut down the salsa to 1 cup simply because i prefer a "thicker" sauce and i add a few extra edamamme! This recipe is fantastic with the al fresco Chipotle Chorizo Chicken Sausage - DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Wow! This is a great dinner recipe! The soy beans add so much great flavor... I did however have to regular sausage instead of jalapeno sausage.. I just wasn't sure if it would be too hot for my kids... but it was still awesome... definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Super yummie!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
So glad to see this recipe on this site. Now I can save it to my recipe box and not have to search the al fresco site for it. I have made this a few times and we just LOVE it! I don't add the edamame because we don't like it but I bet it works just fine here. I wouldn't change a thing otherwise! Perfect-spicy AND sweet! Update- ok, so I've started using the edamame and its pretty good in this. I do recommend doubling the sherry because, hey, why not! It makes just that much more "sauce". Yum Yum yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I crave this meal because it is that good! The fresh mango and pineapple balance the spicy sausage so well! The colors of the different ingredients are beautiful and it's healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TripleNickels

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Loved this! I can't eat soy so i skipped those, and instead of salsa i made a pico and let me just say OUTSTANDING! Hubby can't wait till we have this again! I also served corn tortillas with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States