Spicy Jalapeno Chicken Sausage with Mango, Pineapple Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
It's a strange mix of flavors, but it works. We all enjoyed it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Not a cheap recipe to make, but tasty. Nice blend of flavors. I used a spicy andouille type of chicken sausage I found at Whole Foods. Also served with brown rice instead of the jasmine. Paired with a dry reisling. Will make again for my card group this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
GREAT RECIPE!!!! OUR PASTOR IS SAMOAN & HE LOVED IT! To PALLADIN......Get off your high horse & go make your own chicken jalapeno sausage, grow your own mangoes & pineapple & harvest your black soy beans. Most of us have lives & enjoy making good food for our families. You should be ashamed for your negativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Loved this! I can't eat soy so i skipped those, and instead of salsa i made a pico and let me just say OUTSTANDING! Hubby can't wait till we have this again! I also served corn tortillas with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
My husband (always the skeptic with my new creations) really, REALLY liked this! The only thing I would do differently would be to make my salsa ahead of time to allow it to blend the flavors a bit more (I made my own right before making the recipe.) Also, next time I'll add more jalapeno to it for some more kick (I didn't use the jalapeno chicken sausage, as I couldn't find it. I used plain ole chicken sausage, so there wasn't much heat.) Travis (the skeptic) suggested a squirt of lime juice to freshen it up and it was incredibly good. This is a GREAT summer dish - very filling, but light. I couldn't find black soybeans, so plain ole black beans had to stand in. Overall, easy and good for a nice weeknight meal. And yes, the leftovers are anxiously awaiting my consumption for lunch today. Hehe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I didn't care for this recipe at all. I have no idea what a black soybean is or where to find one, for that matter. There is no balance to this dish. It's very acidic . . . almost to the point of making you pucker. I am not particularly thrilled with the sausage, either . . . not very sausage-y. I'll try a different tropical dish next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This was pretty good. I made some changes, though. I didn't have a mango, so I skipped it and I used one cup of black beans instead of the soy and edamame. My husband really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I really had high expectations for this recipe given the great reviews. It was good, but not great... had way too much salsa- the store-bought salsa I used overtook the taste of the other ingredients. I will make it again, but probably reduce the salsa by about half or leave it out entirely. Perhaps I had this problem because I didn't make my own salsa?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I crave this meal because it is that good! The fresh mango and pineapple balance the spicy sausage so well! The colors of the different ingredients are beautiful and it's healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TripleNickels

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This was delicious!!! I used fresh sun dried tomato basil chicken sausage from whole foods. I just cooked it in the oven about 25 mins. since it was uncooked then proceeded with the pan frying. I sliced it thinner too. I have never heard of black soy beans so I just used a regular can of black beans. 1 1/2 cups of salsa sounds like a lot but I found out it's really needed for moisture. The mango kind of mushes up when you eat it in comparison to the pineapple...it's just a texture thing but it didn't bother me. Great flavor and super easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States