Spicy Italian Sausage and Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This soup was a hit in my family! My teen-agers and all of their friends want me to make this again. My Husband took a bowl to work for lunch and it smelled the whole break room up-to the point that all his co-workers wanted a sample. May have to triple this recipe next time, which will be soon. I even sent this recipe to my friend who is in charge to the local Soup Kitchen! Thanks for posting...5 stars in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Di

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Just awesome! Family and I lived this hearty soup. I used hot Italian turkey sausage removed from the casing and cooked and crumbled. The red wine flavor really stands out. I used broken spaghetti as my pasta of choice that I cooked seperately so as not to make the soup too starchy. Fresh spinach and basil are also a must. Delicious, healthy and filling. I sprinkled some red hot pepper flakes on mine along with some grated romano cheese. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I substituted chopped steak for the spicy sausage, and it turned out great; very hearty and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Cambria, Missouri, USA
Living In: Leeton, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Wow! A hit at my house. I used chilli chicken sausage instead of traditional Italian. It gave it a spicy hot bang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Living In: Gaborone, South-East, Botswana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
It had a great flavor. I would use mild sausage instead of hot next time. I didn't have any basil, so I added some dry basil the same time I added the oregano. I also didn't have enough spinach, but I did chop up what I had and cooked it along with the other veggies. I also didn't have any of the rotini pasta, so I substituted egg noodles. With all my adjustments the soup was still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaD

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I enjoyed this very much, but the family didn't so much; they are not big sausage lovers, so take with a grain of salt. I did add the oregano for the last hour of cooking and added about 1/4 cup sugar to give it a boost - I usually cook much more spicy recipes. Needed two cans of beans in my opinion. Would leave the potato out next time. All in all, I'd make it again for myself, but probably not for the girls. Would make a great potluck or poker night dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Edwards

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This recipe is absolutely delicious! It has lots of wonderful, healthy veggies and so many flavors. My whole family loved it and I'll definitely make it again. I made it exactly as the recipe is written, however it would be easy to modify it to include different veggies and/or meats. I had an opened bottle of shiraz that was the perfect red wine to go with the bold flavors of this dish. Excellent recipe and I'll make it again, especially when the weather cool off this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
My husband and I both enjoyed this recipe. I tweaked the amounts of veggies a bit to satisfy our tastes (more of carrots and potatoes, less celery.) I also didn't use fresh basil because it costs too much. To make up for the flavor, I added dried basil, more oregano, and some Italian seasoning. I also added some dried red pepper for a little extra spice. I added all of the spices while simmering instead of after so that the tastes could combine. I'm also considering adding the Italian sausage earlier next time so that the flavor mingles. I'm sure I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. What's not to love, w/all the different flavors/ingredients that go into it! I did make a few minor changes-I left the potato out b/c didn't think it was necessary; used wheat rotini and couldn't tell the difference; added a handful of tortellini and added extra beef broth to help cook the pasta. The black beans go unnoticed, but left them in b/c i love them! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States