Spicy Italian Sausage and Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Made w/ tiny rigatoni, added spinach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Hearty alternative to the usual black bean soup. I used dried beans (1.5 cups) that I soaked overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slyvella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is absolutely WONDERFUL! The red wine is a delicious touch! I tried to follow this to a T (Besides adding chopped portabella mushrooms) but I forgot until after I had already canned it all that I had left out the spinach and the celery, which.. I did buy, just didn't use. I'll bring spinach tonight in a bag and mix it into the can. Is it weird that I am already looking forward to my 0200 lunch break and it's only 1630 now? :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SharaLynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
this is a delicious soup i cant wait to share it with my friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Awful, just awful. No taste what-so-ever (and we're Italian) and a waste of lots of nice vegetables. But we're stuck with it so we'll have to eat it. I have another Italian Sausage soup recipe that is wonderful, I'll stick to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Substituted Spicy sausage for sweet sausage. WOW was this a good recipe. I was looking for a change up on our homemade chicken soup. After having a black bean/sausage soup at a local soup establishment I wanted to try something that would be similar to have at home. Check around on here for one, choose this one and I must say BINGO first try and I have to look no further. Next time will be with "Hot" sausage... Im sure my feelings will remain the same about this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I followed this recipe but with a few minor changes. I didnt have fresh basil so I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of dried basil along with the oregano. I also thought another reviewer's idea to cook the sausage and spices a little longer made sense so I followed the directions, cooked for 30 minutes rather than 60, added the sausage, oregano and dried basil and cooked for 30 minutes. I didnt have rotini so I substituted small shells. We loved it. It was a little spicy probably since the sausage had 30 min more to add flavor but for our taste it was absolutely delicious. If you prefer it less hot then put the sausage in as the recipe states but I think adding the oregano after 30 min added a lot of flavor since it had time to simmer, 7-10 minutes wouldnt be enough. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Great recipe! The only thing I would alter is to double the beans and rotini. Otherwise, it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
great recipe - excellent flavour! didn't have fresh spinach so just omitted, and used dried basil. would try it with a smaller pasta such as penne or similar next time, but we loved it even with the minor adjustments. totally recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
When this was cooking, I got worried; it really looked like this was going to be a flop. Boy, was I wrong. I followed the recipe exactly and it tasted wonderful. DH and I prefer it without the pasta as a light meal, although over pasta is quite good, too. Warning: this makes a ton of soup -- the portion sizes are huge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States