Spicy Italian Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
This took awhile to prepare but it was really worth it! The artichoke dressing was wonderful! I left out the carrot and added a green pepper and some crumbled blue cheese. We also added some pepperoni to make it a complete meal rather than a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Excellent. I used Rice vinegar with oregano and basic instead of vinegar with tarragon. I also used half extra virgin olive oil and half canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This salad is wonderful to make ahead in containers of each ingredient and mixed at a dinner/party. It really is impressive to watch being mixed, of course, when you taste this salad you can't help but wonder where it's been all your life. It is FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
I wanted a special salad to accompany the pasta dinner I made for my father-in-law's 90th birthday and I'm thrilled to have found this tasty recipe! So many salads are forgettable, but this one stands out; everyone loved it. For maximum dresing flavor, be sure to drain the artichoke hearts really well. I placed each piece upside down on a paper towel and pressed down lightly to remove as much liquid as possible. I also added some mozzarella fresca (fresh, marinated mozzarella balls) just before serving. This one gets a rave review from my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Made a double batch for our 8 person Gourmet Club and everyone loved it including my 2 grown boys who finished up the leftovers when I got home. The only change I made was to use half extra virgin olive oil. My husband and boys have requested I definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Wow, this was every bit as good as the other reviewers say it is! I served it with lasagna for a large crowd; everyone loved it! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Per my preference, I used olive oil instead of canola oil. I omitted the red peppers and carrots, and added cherry tomatoes, sliced in half. I also added a little bit of table salt. I also used all black olives instead of green and black. As another reviewer suggested, I marinated ALL the vegetables (minus the lettuce of course) together and then tossed right before we ate dinner. I topped with homemade croutons. It was delicious! I served with lasagna, and many guests had second helpings of salad, rare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This is so excellent. I did not have tarragon vinegar so I used half rice vinegar and half balsamic vinegar and it worked perfect. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I made this to accompany traditional spaghetti and meatballs. Substituted extra virgin olive oil for canola, otherwise followed recipe exactly. It was delicious with the meal and even better the next day. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I really liked this recipe. I used 1/2 canola, and 1/2 olive oils. I also cut up all the veggies real small, more chopped. Then marinated all the veggies overnight. It almost has "slaw" consistency. Then before serving, I made some more dressing, and mixed romaine with the veggies, and a little more dressing, and fresh pepper. I served with Romano on the side. I was half tempted to serve the "slaw" on top of the romaine, because it was so colorful. Might do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLINKETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States