Spicy Italian Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This salad was a BIG hit with our dinner guests. It's a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Great recipe; tastes wonderful! The only thing I did differently was add more vegis as advised by previous reveiws. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Delicious. The only change I made was to swap the cucumber for zucchini. I was a bit reluctant initially since I don't really like tarragon, but as others have said, the flavor blended well with all the other ingredients. Tasted like a restaurant quality salad. Will absolutely make again. Thank you, Diana, for a great salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Given that my mission was to clean out the fridge of ingredients I had on hand before I leave for home in the morning, I didn't do a bad job of following the recipe pretty closely. I don't care for tarragon vinegar or canola oil and I had a lemon to use so I made my dressing of olive oil, fresh lemon juice, the fresh thyme, dry mustard, garlic., salt and pepper, following the measurements as directed in the recipe. I did not include the sugar, which never appeals to me in a salad dressing. I grilled fresh baby artichokes and skipped the step of marinating them in the dressing. Regardless of insignificant individual modifications to this recipe it is one worth trying. As long as you preserve the basic intent of the submitter and her recipe you will be rewarded with an excellent salad your fork will return to until your plate is clean. It is layers of refreshing and compatible flavors, a rare and refreshing alternative to the typical tossed green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
The dressing is absolutely amazing. My advice is to marinade overnight. The flavor of the dressing with artichokes is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wonderwoman19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Very Nice! For those wondering about tarragon vinegar, Heinz makes a very popular brand. But if you can't find it, you can make your own but it can take between 2 and 3 weeks. Recipes can be found for it if you Google it. I don't think It'd be as good with plain vinegar. To up the spiciness that everyone said it lacked, I did add about a 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes to just the oil 4 days before putting together the salad. It certainly added to the "spiciness" and it has one heck of a kick! I probably could have gotten away with just 1/4 tsp or letting it sit for fewer days. I will do that again, when I make it the next time! I also added Yancy's Peppadew cheese (a local mildly spicy sweet pepper cheese), mozzarella, and capocollo ham. We did leave out the carrots because we don't care for raw carrots. It might be really good with roasted red peppers and maybe some mushrooms and a couple of shakes of Italian seasoning in it too. Can't wait to taste this after it has sat for a night! I'm hoping this won't get gobbled up tomorrow, this is one dish that won't get tossed out; I'd love leftovers of this! WOW! OK.....UPDATE: NOT A GREAT LEFTOVER MEAL!!!! It did taste wonderful that day. This salad doesn't get better as it gets older. if it doesn't get ate the day you add the lettuce, you will only ending up tossing it out. So think about how much might get eaten that day because it might just end up being a waste of money!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARLYBARBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Great salad. I added broccoli and marinated everything except the lettuce overnight with great results. I will be making this again for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was a fun salad. It's not very 'spicy,' more like 'pickle-y.' The sweetnest of the dressing balances out the olives and artichokes - though I might go lighter on the sugar next time. I'm not usually real big on tarragon, but I liked the flavor in this salad. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Changes: I used baby (instead of grated) carrots that I marinated in a jar, overnight, along with the artichokes. I also let guests sprinkle cheese on their own. Addition: a mix of freshly marinated Italian vegetables that I picked up in my local supermarket. I prepared lettuce, red pepper, red onion and olives in advance and refrigerated them in sealed baggies. Then, when guests arrived, all I had to do was peel and slice the cucumber, toss everything into a large glass bowl and place it on the serving counter. I decided to serve the salad in place of hors d'oeuvres--and it was a major success. Very pretty and extremely tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Very good salad, used olive oil instead of canola oil. I also used only a half the dressing and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States