Spicy Italian Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Eh, it was good, but not fabulous. There was nothing spicy about it, and frankly, it was kind of a disappointment. I made this salad for a large group of people but only one person commented on the salad, so I know that it was not a hit. I added the artichoke hearts, as well as some roasted red peppers and garbanzo beans to the salad along with everything else in the recipe. I don't think it really mattered what I added to the salad itself, it was the dressing that just wasn't anything special. It was almost identical to the dressing that I make on a regular basis. I even added extra garlic, some pepper, but it still didn't wow me or anyone else. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This salad was unique and really yummy. I did however, have to add quite a bit of salt at serving time because it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
WOW!!!!!!That says it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This was good, but for us it wasn't rave-worthy. We eat salad every day, and we have a lot of interesting and different recipes, so this was just a bit run-of-the-mill for us. I made a couple of modifications: I don't use canola oil, and I was out of olive oil, so I used grapeseed oil, which has a mild flavor like canola; I used white wine vinegar and fresh tarragon; and instead of using red onion (which I don't like), I minced some shallots and added them to the dressing. I also added a few capers and used more olives than called for. We enjoyed it, but this isn't a keeper for us. Thanks, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I used the recipe as a guide, but used pepperoni, roasted red peppers, 1/2 red onion... didn't like the flavor at first, but after refrigerating it was GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Show Low, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This salad was a great "hit" with our neighbors and they have all asked me to make it again or give them the recipe. I made a few changes as suggested by previous reviews. I used olive oil instead of canola, added more veggies (and definitely more garlic), marinated the carrots and black olives with the artichokes, added gourmet mozzarella cut into bite size pieces and put more grated Romano cheese on top of the salad when serving. I wasn't too sure about "chopping" the lettuce, so, I just tore it into bite size pieces. I am making it again today (one week later) and will add more artichokes. This is definitely a recipe I will keep, but with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I really liked this recipe. I used 1/2 canola, and 1/2 olive oils. I also cut up all the veggies real small, more chopped. Then marinated all the veggies overnight. It almost has "slaw" consistency. Then before serving, I made some more dressing, and mixed romaine with the veggies, and a little more dressing, and fresh pepper. I served with Romano on the side. I was half tempted to serve the "slaw" on top of the romaine, because it was so colorful. Might do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLINKETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Excellent. I used Rice vinegar with oregano and basic instead of vinegar with tarragon. I also used half extra virgin olive oil and half canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I made this to accompany traditional spaghetti and meatballs. Substituted extra virgin olive oil for canola, otherwise followed recipe exactly. It was delicious with the meal and even better the next day. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
A great starting point for the imagination. I loved the dressing, though I used olive oil and more garlic. The name spicy may be a bit misleading, as I did not find it spicy or even all that tangy, so I added roasted red peppers, pepperoni, and kalamata olives, and when it got served as leftovers the next day, it got everything but the kitchen sink thrown in! Still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Strasburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beach City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States