Spicy Italian Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Per my preference, I used olive oil instead of canola oil. I omitted the red peppers and carrots, and added cherry tomatoes, sliced in half. I also added a little bit of table salt. I also used all black olives instead of green and black. As another reviewer suggested, I marinated ALL the vegetables (minus the lettuce of course) together and then tossed right before we ate dinner. I topped with homemade croutons. It was delicious! I served with lasagna, and many guests had second helpings of salad, rare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
I wanted a special salad to accompany the pasta dinner I made for my father-in-law's 90th birthday and I'm thrilled to have found this tasty recipe! So many salads are forgettable, but this one stands out; everyone loved it. For maximum dresing flavor, be sure to drain the artichoke hearts really well. I placed each piece upside down on a paper towel and pressed down lightly to remove as much liquid as possible. I also added some mozzarella fresca (fresh, marinated mozzarella balls) just before serving. This one gets a rave review from my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Very tasty and hearty salad. I chopped all of the vegetables in advance (adding tomatoes) and marinated them ALL in the dressing and tossed with lettuce right before serving. I will be making this salad again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This salad was a great "hit" with our neighbors and they have all asked me to make it again or give them the recipe. I made a few changes as suggested by previous reviews. I used olive oil instead of canola, added more veggies (and definitely more garlic), marinated the carrots and black olives with the artichokes, added gourmet mozzarella cut into bite size pieces and put more grated Romano cheese on top of the salad when serving. I wasn't too sure about "chopping" the lettuce, so, I just tore it into bite size pieces. I am making it again today (one week later) and will add more artichokes. This is definitely a recipe I will keep, but with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
This was awesome with an Italian meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
This took awhile to prepare but it was really worth it! The artichoke dressing was wonderful! I left out the carrot and added a green pepper and some crumbled blue cheese. We also added some pepperoni to make it a complete meal rather than a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This salad is wonderful to make ahead in containers of each ingredient and mixed at a dinner/party. It really is impressive to watch being mixed, of course, when you taste this salad you can't help but wonder where it's been all your life. It is FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
A good salad, however, not very unique. The artichokes had the most flavour from the marinade and the rest of the salad was rather ordinary. I guess I missed something in the "spicey" part. I would use this recipe as a base but would certainly add more herbs, spices to zip it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Very Nice! For those wondering about tarragon vinegar, Heinz makes a very popular brand. But if you can't find it, you can make your own but it can take between 2 and 3 weeks. Recipes can be found for it if you Google it. I don't think It'd be as good with plain vinegar. To up the spiciness that everyone said it lacked, I did add about a 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes to just the oil 4 days before putting together the salad. It certainly added to the "spiciness" and it has one heck of a kick! I probably could have gotten away with just 1/4 tsp or letting it sit for fewer days. I will do that again, when I make it the next time! I also added Yancy's Peppadew cheese (a local mildly spicy sweet pepper cheese), mozzarella, and capocollo ham. We did leave out the carrots because we don't care for raw carrots. It might be really good with roasted red peppers and maybe some mushrooms and a couple of shakes of Italian seasoning in it too. Can't wait to taste this after it has sat for a night! I'm hoping this won't get gobbled up tomorrow, this is one dish that won't get tossed out; I'd love leftovers of this! WOW! OK.....UPDATE: NOT A GREAT LEFTOVER MEAL!!!! It did taste wonderful that day. This salad doesn't get better as it gets older. if it doesn't get ate the day you add the lettuce, you will only ending up tossing it out. So think about how much might get eaten that day because it might just end up being a waste of money!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARLYBARBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Wow, this was every bit as good as the other reviewers say it is! I served it with lasagna for a large crowd; everyone loved it! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States