Spicy Italian Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I served this at a all girl's party. All my friends raved about it (Yes, I have great friends!). I couldn't believe it. I've been trying to learn to cook more new things, so it was very satisfying when everyone asked for the recipe. I used cherry tomatoes and a yellow bellpepper. Also used white wine vinegar because I couldn't find tarragon vinegar. I didn't add black olives. Draining the artichoke hearts is a great idea. LOVED THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri from Vista CA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
AWESOME! Was a hit with all of my guests. Thanks for the terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Delicious salad. I marianated ALL veggies and added mozarrela fresca (mozarella balls) when tossing romaine lettuce. The dressing is out of this world!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Made this for a family holiday gathering and for some reason it was not a major hit -- the other ("regular") salad was eaten much more. I had a lot of this left. I definitely cut back on the onions, but even that didn't seem to make it a crowd pleaser. Nonetheless, it was still pretty tasty in my personal opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Good recipe - Like someone suggested in a previous review, I also swapped olive oil for canola oil and used rice vinegar instead of tarragon vinegar. In addition, I used 1 1/2 T of dried italian spice mix instead of the frest herbs. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I'm actually one of those weird ppl who don't like salads but I served this at a party & it got great reviews! Easy - followed directions exactly. Will make again, for others of course:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Eh, it was good, but not fabulous. There was nothing spicy about it, and frankly, it was kind of a disappointment. I made this salad for a large group of people but only one person commented on the salad, so I know that it was not a hit. I added the artichoke hearts, as well as some roasted red peppers and garbanzo beans to the salad along with everything else in the recipe. I don't think it really mattered what I added to the salad itself, it was the dressing that just wasn't anything special. It was almost identical to the dressing that I make on a regular basis. I even added extra garlic, some pepper, but it still didn't wow me or anyone else. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This salad was unique and really yummy. I did however, have to add quite a bit of salt at serving time because it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
WOW!!!!!!That says it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This was good, but for us it wasn't rave-worthy. We eat salad every day, and we have a lot of interesting and different recipes, so this was just a bit run-of-the-mill for us. I made a couple of modifications: I don't use canola oil, and I was out of olive oil, so I used grapeseed oil, which has a mild flavor like canola; I used white wine vinegar and fresh tarragon; and instead of using red onion (which I don't like), I minced some shallots and added them to the dressing. I also added a few capers and used more olives than called for. We enjoyed it, but this isn't a keeper for us. Thanks, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States