Spicy Italian Pork Cutlets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Great meal! I prepared this dish with a little more chicken broth and wine, and made the sauce about a half hour before browning the thin cutlets. Instead of just oil, I added 2 tbsp. of butter with the recommended amount of oil--it browned the cutlets quicker (about 45 second per side). I added them to the warm sauce for about two more minutes before serving over thin spaghetti (which I reserved 1/2 cup of broth to mix with after draining so it wouldn't dry out). The cutlets, as thin as they were, were moist and not dry at all. A great, easy dish! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
If only I could give it 6 stars!! I made some changes: used balsamic vinegar (instead of wine) and added sliced cooked potatoes before the pork (because I didn't have pasta). Also, to add some Italian taste, I added sliced black olives 5 minutes before it was ready. Ciao!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Really easy weeknight recipe. I didn't have any fresh or diced tomatoes on hand, so I substituted crushed tomatoes instead. Sauce was DELICIOUS! I also substituted rissotto instead of the pasta which gave it a richer taste. I think next time I will make it in the crockpot so the pork will be more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This is a very plain dish. I think if you've ever eaten at a 5 star restaurant, you would certainly give this no more than 2 or 3. As another reviewer said, the sauce does not thicken until there is nothing left but mushy tomatoes. If you brown those thin pork chops and then cook them for an additional 5-10 mins, you will not be sure whether you are chewing on shoe leather or a piece of meat. I don't mean to be this critical, but lately I've tried a few too many recipes from this site that have been rated 5 stars and are not worthy. Like I said, this is a fine dish for a weeknight dinner, but 5 stars????? I would never serve it to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzitish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Egypt, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I think the reason it didn't taste good may have been that I didn't have garlic cloves so I used minced garlic from a jar. Maybe I'll try again another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was such a nice surprise. Light and flavorful. The kid even loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
We actually used pork ribeyes for this recipe, and a little more garlic. It was fantastic! Pair this with Baked Sweet Potatoes on this site and your in for a great fall feast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JettnTX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
What awesomeness. We substituted white vinegar + 1/4 cup of sugar for the white wine and got a very nice sweet sauce (nobody had white wine). Compliments brown rice quite nicely. We've also added finely minced onions (sauteed before putting in the tomatoes, and after searing the pork), chopped olives (after the pork is added to the tomato mixture). This recipe also works well with garlic powder -- give a light dusting to the pork before it is tossed into the pan and sprinkle in a bit more after everything is sitting in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This was very good and very easy. I omitted the parsely b/c I had none, and I used a can of diced tomatoes since I didn't have a fresh one. I couldn't tell the difference. It was a nice spin on regular old pork chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adriane Ohrum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
The sauce had a wonderful flavor. It did take longer than a couple of minutes for it to thicken, but it was worth it. I will use the sauce on chicken, pasta, and whatever else I think of in the future. I didn't have a fresh tomato on hand, so I used half a can of diced tomatoes that I drained. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Crispy Pork Cutlets

See what happens when German schnitzel technology meets Southern country cooking.

Slow Cooker Pork Cacciatore

See how to make perfectly tender pork cacciatore in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States