Spicy Indian Dahl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Found it to be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Absolutely delicious! This gluten free, soy free, and vegan dish will be happily devoured by omnivores. I followed the recipe exactly, except I left the seeds in the jalapenos. I served the dahl over Basmati rice, but I bet that it would have been even better over potatoes. I usually don't cook with cilantro because my partner dislikes it, but it looked integral to this recipe so I went ahead and sneaked it in. The flavor was incredible, and my partner's only complaint was that I didn't make a double recipe. My onions were small and three onions was just right - I suspect the reviewers who remarked that this recipe calls for too much onion were using larger onions. If you like dahl, you really have to try this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ClimbingRocks

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I liked it but it was a lot more work than I realized. The recipe could use some added details ( suggestion on cooking the lentils, temperatures, etc). I would suggest green lentils because they stay together better. The red lentils got squished quite a bit and I followed the directions on the package. I read that's a typical problem with red lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I increased the cumin by 33% and added turmeric, asafetida, and curry leaves. Works well in the crockpot. Butter is nice in place of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Fantastic! I had green lentils on hand so I used those, and instead of cooking them beforehand, I cooked them for about 45 minutes after adding the tomatoes. So flavorful and delicious - I will be making this again! (also, make sure you carmelize the onions/garlic - it adds such a wonderful flavor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vschneider

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
So surprised that we all liked this. I've never cooked lentils or made Indian food before. The consistency of this would have been WAY to thick to be considered a soup. I used at least 2 cups of chicken broth and put some of the mix into a blender to use as a main-meal dip for Naan. I was hesitant about the overload of onions and used 2 large onions. I was shocked that it wasn't really flavorful and will probably add more or other spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Delicious!!! I doubled the amount of red lentils and spices, and used one and half cups of water and half a cup of tomato souce. I also served it with garlic bread. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I've made this several times and guests always love it. I change a few things here and there - especially the heat - according to my guests. Served with brown rice and cucumber salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
this is wonderful don't know where they say its tasteless, tastes and smells heavenly thankyou so much for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is not good. At all. Sorry. It doesn't taste like true Indian food, and it's not the right kind of spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States