Spicy Indian Dahl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
This was not only Healthy and Low Fat but delicious as well. I used 2 can s of diced tomatoes instead of fresh, just to save time. Thanks so much for the recipe, its a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
This recipe was wonderful. A great combination of sweet and spicey. I didn't have enough fresh tomatoes, so I used canned diced, and I left out the cilantro; my husband doesn't like it. It was a big hit. I'll make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
a wonderful soup! I added an extra pepper because we love it spicy. I also used a large can of diced tomatoes instead of the fresh. I served the soup with naan bread and a salad which made a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
Does anyone else have a spouse and children who don't like spicy foods? Guess what! They went on a day trip with the mom-in-law, and the kitchen is my castle! There are over a thousand soups to pick from and I chose this one! To the creator of this meal, my palate says, "Thank You!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
I loved this recipe, especially when it was fresh! Very very oniony though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This was so good. I made a simple flat bread with it and even my husband (who scorns soups or anything spicy) thought it was very good. I only used one jalepeno to turn down the heat for my family but it was easy to spice up one bowl with chili paste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This is a new house favorite. I subtracted one jalapeno pepper and added some tumeric. After boiling a cup of lentils in 4 cups of water there was enough liquidity that I also subtracted the cup of water that is called for. It is fairly labor intensive due to the chopping and stirring but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
Tastes really similar to the dahl served at Cosmic Cafe in Dallas, Texas. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon E. Hendrickson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
I skipped the onions as I am allergic, but followed the rest precisely. Yum! The cilantro really makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States