Spicy Indian Dahl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
I loved this recipe, especially when it was fresh! Very very oniony though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
This was not only Healthy and Low Fat but delicious as well. I used 2 can s of diced tomatoes instead of fresh, just to save time. Thanks so much for the recipe, its a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
Fairly good. Spicy, but not a ton of flavor. I served it over cous cous which worked well and was easy. I have another recipe for Dahl that I like better than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Fantastic taste! The finished dish has lovely color. I had to substitute for what was on hand. I used old style mustard (with whole seeds), a pinch of garam masala (no jalapenos), and canned tomatos. I also omitted the fresh cilantro, and it still came out great. Yummy with whole wheat pitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
This tasted good in tortillas, like burritos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
Does anyone else have a spouse and children who don't like spicy foods? Guess what! They went on a day trip with the mom-in-law, and the kitchen is my castle! There are over a thousand soups to pick from and I chose this one! To the creator of this meal, my palate says, "Thank You!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
a wonderful soup! I added an extra pepper because we love it spicy. I also used a large can of diced tomatoes instead of the fresh. I served the soup with naan bread and a salad which made a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
This recipe was wonderful. A great combination of sweet and spicey. I didn't have enough fresh tomatoes, so I used canned diced, and I left out the cilantro; my husband doesn't like it. It was a big hit. I'll make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
This is a flavourful and delicious soup. The combination of lentils and tomatoes makes it hearty without being heavy. Nothing confusing about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
This dish has a wonderful aroma and flavor. I usually do not cook with fresh tomatoes (I don't like their texture or flavor), but enjoyed this combination. I would add sliced carrots and green peppers for more color contrast, reducing the number of tomatoes to 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States