Spicy Indian Dahl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
Fairly good. Spicy, but not a ton of flavor. I served it over cous cous which worked well and was easy. I have another recipe for Dahl that I like better than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Fantastic taste! The finished dish has lovely color. I had to substitute for what was on hand. I used old style mustard (with whole seeds), a pinch of garam masala (no jalapenos), and canned tomatos. I also omitted the fresh cilantro, and it still came out great. Yummy with whole wheat pitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
This tasted good in tortillas, like burritos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
Does anyone else have a spouse and children who don't like spicy foods? Guess what! They went on a day trip with the mom-in-law, and the kitchen is my castle! There are over a thousand soups to pick from and I chose this one! To the creator of this meal, my palate says, "Thank You!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
a wonderful soup! I added an extra pepper because we love it spicy. I also used a large can of diced tomatoes instead of the fresh. I served the soup with naan bread and a salad which made a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
This recipe was wonderful. A great combination of sweet and spicey. I didn't have enough fresh tomatoes, so I used canned diced, and I left out the cilantro; my husband doesn't like it. It was a big hit. I'll make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
This is a flavourful and delicious soup. The combination of lentils and tomatoes makes it hearty without being heavy. Nothing confusing about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
This dish has a wonderful aroma and flavor. I usually do not cook with fresh tomatoes (I don't like their texture or flavor), but enjoyed this combination. I would add sliced carrots and green peppers for more color contrast, reducing the number of tomatoes to 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-68 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States