Spicy Indian Dahl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
really good. I omitted most of the Jalapeno, not because of flaovr- the age of my daughter- and her tolerance for heat levels. We will make this agian and agian. Was easy to prepare- we ate it with an east Indian Rice dish and naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I have been searching for the perfect dahl recipe for years--and tonight I found it! I made a few minor changes. I used only 2 onions. Scaled the tomatoes down to 2 (tho I regretted not using 4). I added about 1/2 tsp of turmeric, mainly for colour. I also toasted whole spices and then ground them up. I simmered the cooked lentils with the rest of the ingredients for about 10 minutes to meld the flavours. I bet it will be even better the next day! (If I don't polish it off sooner!) Thank you for sharing. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This recipe was very good. With no changes to the original recipe, using fresh ground spices, the dahl was flavourful and delicious. (I love indian food and am confused by the reviews saying it was bland. Did they follow the recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This recipe had way too much ginger for my liking. It overpowered the taste of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
AWSOME!! we love indian food so this was great. I did not have Jalapenos on hand so I substituted 1 tsp indian chili powder, and only had 1 1/2 cups of chopped tomatoes so that is what I used and the flavor was great. It was a little hot for my 10 yr old but when he added plain yogurt to it to counter the heat he enjoyed it as well. (note: if you have never used indian chili powder, it is hotter and has a unique flavor you don't get with other chili powders. you can get it in indian markets)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kingsburg, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I would have rated this three or so when I first made it as the lackluster flavor did not justify the effort. So, we only ate a little and put the rest in the refrigerator. A couple of days later, I heated it up for a quick meal, planning to add some stuff to spice it up. Not needed! Wow, what a difference! Sitting for a while really brought out the promised spicy, wonderful flavors. Now I make it in advance and it is a favorite dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This soup was spicy, but otherwise flavorless. Another review said it was like the Cosmic Cafe'sbut I beg to differ. I would give this one star, but my mom said it was OK, and it is fairly healthy. Not worth the trouble... sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basil Stone

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
just ok kind of blan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Easy, tasty, but not a little lacking in the flavour department. Needed a little extra zip, but I'd definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Good recipe...better than other dahl recipes I've tried because the lentil flavor was not overpowering. Nice balance of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States