Spicy Indian Dahl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Made this with 2 cans of tomatoes instead of fresh. Other than that, I added A LOT of salt, plus turmeric and the other spices because as it was cooking it seemed to have no flavor. It does get better with age and it was quite good when it was finished. Only change I would say is to use less onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I am not super framiler with Indian food, but I do know that this tasted good. I would highly reccomend that you not start with all three peppers when trying this dish for the first time. If you are not used to heat, and I mean REAL heat, and you get some hotter peppers your going to be in trouble. Remember you can always add more heat, but you cannot take it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by threemore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D&D'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Waay too hot. Def decrease jalapenos, otherwise, delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
We really like this recipe. I just cooked the lentils in a pot like normal and they were fine. I used two cans of tomatoes, drained, because fresh aren't in season right now. I also reduced the garlic to 2 cloves and used pickled jalapenos to keep the flavor on the tame side. It was still very flavorful and even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This was a great recipe.... Whether you consider it a dahl or a soup ( I actually like my lentil soups think). It's very simple to prepare, there is the chopping of the onions and the mincing of the Ginger, garlic and cilantro, but I let my mini food processor do that ! I used a large can of WHOLE tomatoes including the juice instead of fresh.I did cut them in large chunks. ( I don't like canned diced tomatoes as they tend to disintergrate to quickly) . I used double the cilantro. The color was bland, so I added some turmeric that a prior reviewer suggested. I didn't use naan. I actually served this in mini whole grain bread boules. I made a tray of condiments and things for my guests to add on their own.... Jalapenos, yogurt, fresh peas, baby shrimp , cubed chicken, more cilantro, chick peas, quinoa. My family and guests really liked being to add what they wanted and adjusting the amount of cilantro and jalapenos. I served lime and mango sherbert for desert... Light and refreshing ending! I'll make this again and again. I froze leftovers in individual containers... I always make a double batch. Freezes great for a great lunch, side dish, dip, or dinner again . You'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I love this soup! Easy to make and delicious. Only thing I do different is adding more water to make it more "soupy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I thought this was a soup. I guess I should have guessed by the small amount of water that the recipe called for. So it's just a Dahl, and a rather good one at that, but too many onions for my tastes. I really wanted a soup for this dinner, so I just added 2 cups of water at the end of the process and voilà, a spicy Dahl soup was born. I already make a Dahl and much easier. Throw all the ingredients into a pressure cooker and 10m later all is done. Easy.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevoParis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Photo by Olli
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Very good! It's definitely a good idea to make this a day or two in advance as it's much better then! I used only 1/2 cup of water and that was plenty. Also, I will use only a teaspoon of Cumin only, it was a bit too dominant in my opinion. We had it with Indian style Cauliflower, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olli
Living In: Halle, Sachsen-Anhalt, Germany
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This is a nice hearty meal. I will add more cilantro next time. I kept the peppers to a minimum for the 6 year old and the adults still enjoyed the blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States