Spicy Indian Dahl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Good, very forgiving recipe... Did two things different: Ghee instead of oil and added approx. 12 cloves. These give it more depth and spiciness. Also like the other reviewer said, it gets better after sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
great! i added 1 Tbs of curry and 1/2 tsp cinnamon and red pepper flakes. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Couldn't find red lentils, so used green instead and I think that did the recipe some disservice. I find that it tasted better the next day and great with chapati!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Perfect combination of flavors! I changed it a little by cooking the 1 cup of lentils with 2 cups of water in with all the other ingriedients for 45 minutes. It made really great lentil soup that I served with basamati rice and naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie Amoroso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I am really sorry but we just did not like this recipe. First it was written out of order which is rather frustrating when you are trying to time and prepare multiple components of a meal. Secondly it was weirdly full if spice but yet still bland. eating it with chutney and Naan helped but we didn't even bother to save the leftovers of which there was a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
To simplify this and to save time, I started with step 2. I didn't have jalapenos so I used chilis. Same effect. I used powder for cumin, coriander and garlic. Then I added the raw lentils and water to the same skillet (no time in this house to pre-cook anything and no intention of using a pressure cooker!). Cover tightly and simmer on low until the lentils are soft. Keep adding water if needed. Nice to do on a Sunday when you are just hanging around. This recipe is absolutely delish, healthy and mouthwatering tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I wanted to love this recipe, but I didn't. As another reviewer said, it's both flavorful and bland at the same time. I used freshly purchased spices, but I still found the flavors to be dull, even after sitting for a couple of days in the fridge. I certainly wouldn't describe it as "spicy," and I'm still looking for a good everyday dahl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This is not like any dahl I've ever had before. I don't know any Indians that use this much garlic unless it's dahl tadka, which this is definitely not. The garlic was overpowering, in my opinion. Very strong flavor but at the same time it's missing some POP. This recipe could use a little more finesse rather than being beaten to death with a few flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GingerbreadMommy
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I used green lentils and did not precook them. I just added them to the recipe and let it all cook together with the spices and liquid. I used canned chopped tomatoes and the juices. I used red onions and added 1 chopped red pepper (the long ones the size of your finger) and the red colour combined with the green lentils made it very colourful. I would hold back on the jalepenos too until you've had a taste. I used jarred jalepenos. I let it simmer to boil away the liquids. I served it with naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerbreadMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States