Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Sorry, I didn't care for this. Too bland, needed salt and spices. The cucumber was weird...but I did make a cuke salad with it, and that was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Mmmmm. I loved this dish, it was easy to make and had a great taste. I did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busymantis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Yum! Made exactly as directed and it turned out great. However, next time I'll probably leave out the cucumbers. Authentic or not, I just don't care for them in this particular dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Great! I agree to add more spices: extra curry paste, curry powder, turmeric, chili powder, paprika, salt, & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
this was pretty good, it didnt come out as near as pretty as the picture! but it is something that is very healthy for my family to eat, it was easy too. but it wasnt as spicy as i thought it was, it was extrmely mild. the coconut/mango mixture wasnt very sweet, it was kinda bitter, i had to add just a smidgin of sugar. the cucumbers went very well with it, we just had it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessicathiele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This was delicious, the whole family loved it –including my 8 year old. I used rttii's homemade curry recipe listed in the comments below, so the color of this dish was more of an ocher brown than yellow. I used what I had: 1 fresh mango, 1 can of coconut milk, 1/2 a cucumber, 3 tsp of curry, and replaced the shallots for an ordinary medium onion. I found the dish to be very runny (probably because of the missing mango) and right before serving decided to thicken it with cornstarch. (I took all the meat out, dissolved 2tsp of cornstarch into 1tbs of water and whisked it into the coconut mango). I will definitely be making this again, with or without the second mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacebase

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This is really delicious. I added a lot more spices to this. I used about 2 tblsps of curry powder, a tblsp of paprika, a teaspoon of chili, and a tsp of turmeric. It came out VERY delicious. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phiny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
i love curry and i really wanted to give it 5 stars but it didn't really dazzle me. if i could; i'd rate it 3 1/2 stars. i had to add extra spices because it was a little bland. something was missing; not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janejones81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Unfortunately, I found this a little bland... Also be very wary of overcooking mango, it only takes a few minutes and both mango and coconut quickly loose their flavor. That said, this snafoo may have been my fault, but it was still a bit of a disappointment :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wheaton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Very good though quite bland. The amount of coconut milk and mango puree overpowers the curry. I was afraid of putting too much curry, as I hate spicy food, but this was too bland even for my taste. Next time I will try adding more spices to the chicken, or to the puree. But I will definitely make this again! Great with naan bread made according to the recipe on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elenchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States