Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Well I wish I wasnt the one to write this type of review, HOWEVER, as you'll see I gave this 1 star, I wish i could give NO STARS. Note to self: Dont try a new recipe when you are entertaining, make it a few times to perfect the taste. Speaking of taste, this had no taste to me. The coconut milk took from the mango flavor in the puree. I had to save this dish by adding Schezwan sauce to it to give it a Hot/Sweet blend. This was far from an Indian dish, it lacked the flavor and feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJ~Shew

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
My husband and I love this recipe and have made it on numerous occasions. We pretty much follow it exactly, but we also add in some pineapple (to both the sauce and actual chunks in the dish - only use a bit though because the pineapple can overtake the mango flavoring) and about a tablespoon of minced ginger. I also serve it with shredded coconut on top and use an indian-inspired rice as a base (cook your rice with browned onion and a bit of cinnamon and cumin). DEEE-LICIOUSNESS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Good, but the recipe as it stands isn't great. I added twice the curry past and 1/2 the mango, some tumeric and sea salt. I do recommend adding the rest of the mango in a bowl and letting people add it to their meal. IT'S AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorklyn, Delaware, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This recipe is amazing! The first time I followed the recipe exactly but I found the mango overwhelmed the coconut milk flavour and the spice was bland for my tastes. The next time I reduced the mangoes to 1 and added more spice: 1 tsp chili paste, 1/2 tsp turmeric, 1/4 tsp garlic, 1 tsp fresh ginger, 1/2 tsp paprika. I also used half a can of coconut milk to reduce the fat the second time around. Thanks so much for such a wonderful and refreshing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I found this recipe to be delicious! I halved it the first time and made it as written (only with light coconut milk). The second time, I doubled the curry paste and used a frozen bag of mango/raspberry/blueberry pieces (because that's all I had on hand). Both were great, but the fresh mango is better and the doubling of the curry paste is a must for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I love this dish! One of my top 5 all time favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
4.5 stars. I really enjoyed this - the sweetness of the mango really went well with the spices. I didn't have/couldn't find a spicy curry paste, so I made my own blend: 1 clove crushed garlic, a little bit of fresh minced ginger, 1-2 tbsp crushed tomatoes, and the following spices to taste: ground cumin, coriander, garam masala, curry powder, turmeric, cayenne. I left out the cucumber because I didn't have any. I would try this again (and if I could find curry paste, would give it a go to see how it would work). But overall very happy with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
excellent family loved it..added 1 bananna & 1/2 red bell pepper served with Jasmine Rice...very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bon_ee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This was excellent. Everybody in the family was raving about it, even my younger picky eaters. I did not have shallots so I just sauteed an onion before the chicken. I made it more saucey by about doubling the mango and adding extra curry paste. I also added red pepper and curry powder for a little extra kick. Served it with naan for dipping in the sauce. This was a very easy recipe and a real crowd pleaser. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Ohhh so good!! It was delicious, i didnt put the mangoes in it, i put it on the side but it was great! Thanks. Even my Husky couldnt help himself.. he ate my chicken curry while my back was turned! Lol -__-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States