Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Really good, I added quite a few more things, once adding garlic, carrots and whatever else I felt like. Very ripe mangos are key! Great basic recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Some in my family can't eat hot foods, so I substituted mild curry paste for the spicy stuff. It was still really tasty. I also substituted coconut oil for the vegetable oil--gives a little more flavor and healthier too. The recipe makes a lot--four very generous servings or, more likely, six normal ones. Best thing about this recipe is the lovely fresh taste from the mangoes and cucumber. Worst thing is the prep time--no way is it 25 minutes to cut up raw chicken, prep the mangoes, seed and slice the cuke, peel and slice the shallots. It's worth it, but this isn't a speedy recipe--unless you have a sous chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Excellent flavor. I used red curry paste and had to use frozen mangoes (that's all I had). I also used thighs instead of chicken breasts, though I liked them I will try the chicken breast next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
it tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Like one of the other reviewers, I found this recipe to be bland. I added some sea salt and a small amount of cayenne pepper to pep it up a bit. I made it for a potluck, and a few people went back for seconds and even thirds, but it was a little too exotic for about half of the guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Not sure why this has good reviews. This needed SALT! It just didn't work for me, even though all the ingredients in this dish I like. When I'm older and not allowed to eat salt anymore, I will make this again. Just straight up BLAND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Best Curry I've made yet. I did not find it spicy enough so I doubled the curry paste and added a few hot dried peppers. My mangos were not ripe even after sitting for a week in my house, so I pureed 1 with a cup of fresh pineapple and the milk to help sweeten/flavor it. I didn't have shallots so I used 5 scallions which ar much less potent. I was surprised how well the cucumber went with the dish and added a few cashews to garnish also. Overall good curry served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Very good! Little bland, but great with the sliced mango and cucumber added to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I like the idea, but it came out a bit bland. Try adding a few chili peppers and some common Indian spices such as garam masala, cardamom, cinnamon, cloves, and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Not quite what I was hoping for, but still good. It was a bit bland, so I suppose that could be the fault of my curry paste and not the recipe -- I used a mild paste, but there should still be plenty of flavor if not spice. I needed to add a lot of salt so it didn't just taste like pureed mangoes. I will probably make it again but add more curry paste and some salt. I also changed the veggies: half an onion and half a green pepper, sauteed with the curry paste, then a couple small tomatoes quartered thrown in with the mango slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States