Spicy Indian Chicken Curry Yummy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This recipe inspired me to make my own version of it. I didn't like the idea of the whole peppercorns, or the whole cloves. I wouldn't want to bite into the whole clove, it would be overwhelming with sweet, which I did not want. So I switched up the spices a bit, a lot of bit, ha ha. I browned the chicken in oil, and set aside then I saute the onions, along with one garlic, and about 1 tbsp of fresh finely chopped ginger. Then added 1 finely chopped tomato, for about 1 minute. then I added 2 cups of water along with the following spices. 1 tbsp of curry powder, dash of cayenne pepper, 1/4 tsp tumeric, 1/4 teaspoon pepper, 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes, a dash of cinnamon, a dash of ground cloves, & 2 bay leaves. Im sorry my recipe isn't precise, I didn't think I would be sharing it.. but it was so good, I couldn't help but do so. This was in fact my first time cooking with Curry Powder and I have to admit, I like it. Ok So I let come to a boil, then I reduce to medium low heat, still boiling some, and in the meantime, I had the rice cooked, Then in the last minute I wanted some peas added to it, so I got the frozen peas and cooked in a bowl with a bit of water in the microwave! Then i added to the pot, Then I added a bit more water, and to make the gravy thick, i added 1 tablespoon of cornstarch, pre mix it in some water, then add to the pot, little at a time, you might not need it all.. Hope this helps somebody out there. The aroma of this recipe was amazing, and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Honestly this was in edible. I followed the recipe exactly, please don't waste your time on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Wonderful recipe! Gorgeous smelling before you start cooking and even better smelling and tasting after. I had to use fresh garlic and dried ginger, but still an absolutely delicious recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
"Curry" is a generic term and there are countless variations. Like bbq, everyone has an idea of what it should taste like. I liked this version. It was reminicent of good Indian dishes I have had. I followed the instructions exactly. I was surprised that it did not call for sauteeing anything in the oil, but putting all the ingredients together, stirring, covering and simmering immediately. Doing that, at the end of the 30 minutes cooking time, I did, indeed, have gravy. If the dish is too hot for one's taste, even serving it over rice as it should be, Indian currys are served with yogurt, which can be added to your plate to cool the heat to your particular taste. It adds to the yummy factor. In the future I will add the whole spices wrapped in cheese cloth, bouquet garni style, or substitute ground spices. Chomping down on a whole cardamom pod is not my idea of a good time. However, since the balance was so perfect as called for, I probably will stick to whole spices, but wrapped up so I can take them out prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: North Beach, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I liked it, but I found it too dry. I might have missed something, but it didn't have coconut milk or tomatoes, or anything to make any sort of sauce. I decided to add tomato. I have found other curry recipes here much better than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I just started to cook and I made it last night. It turned out amazing. I cant wait to make it again. I used skinless/boneless chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Really delicious. I excluded (personal preference) the bay leaf, clover and black peppercorns. Served with a side of rice and raita. Yummy! A new favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washago, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
My family loved this. I skinned the thighs but didn't debone, & it was SO TOTALLY TENDER! I didn't have cadamom (very expensive right now) or the garlic paste or peppercorns. Since my son doesn't like to feel the onions or garlic in his food, yet they're nutritious, I usually put those ingredients, my spices and some dissolved bouillon in the blender, and then pour the liquid on the meat and allow it all to cook down. This time, I also added a can of UNSWEETENED coconut milk. WOW! GREAT! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
My husband rated this a three. I thought there was something missing in flavor. I am not sure I would make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
The recipe is definitely missing three things: milk or coconut milk, chicken broth, and SALT! That's why there's "no gravy" and it's "spicy, yet bland." I think the author of the recipe probably just forgot to type in these ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States