Spicy Hot Chicken Legs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Followed recipe exactly except that I did what many have suggested and finished the last 30 min. in a 400 degree oven. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I tried this recipe tonight using one large oval slowcooker for 12 very large chicken drumsticks. I followed the recipe with the exception of stopping the cooking in the slowcooker after 2 1/2 hours, then finishing the meat off in the oven 30 minutes at 350 degrees. They were most appetizing with a crunchy skin. They were just the right amount of heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Didn't look like the photo but it was delicious. Served it with Spanish rice and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I wasn't thrilled with this at all! Very disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
We loved it! I followed the recipe as written and finished it in the oven with a light spritz of oil and a 2nd batch of sauce for the last half-hour. I've never used hot sauce before and wasn't sure what to expect, but I got the most wonderful crust on it that was spicy enough to bring a few tears to my eyes. Neither of us are fans of blue cheese so I skipped the dressing, but even my boyfriend enjoyed it so much that the next day he suggested that we go buy more chicken. I used Frank's Red Hot Sauce - now I wonder if I dare go with something a bit hotter? Chowsito, thank you for sharing this delicious sinus-clearing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I followed the recipe except I cooked on low for 5 hours. The meat fell off the bone so I scooped that up into a pan and baked for 30 minutes. I served over white rice and it was very flavorful. I thought that much hot sauce might make it too spicy but it was really enjoyable. I did not use the dressing because of using the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I added about a cup of Marinara Sauce to make what my Granpa used to call "Sauce Meat" Topped with the Blue Cheese dressing ala sour cream. Used some Indian Naan bread to dip in the sauce. Also added some Adobo seasoning for a more exotic flavor. Great stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianae
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Sriracha sauce works very well as the sauce to cook this in, much thicker and will adhere to the chicken, the oven is a great idea and use more of the sauce then also. There are some Asian sweet hot chili sauces (May Ploy)that also are great with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by landlinsf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
It was ok to me, but my guests enjoyed it. I removed the skins as I did not want a lot of fat sitting in the pot for hours. Cooked for about 2.5hrs on high then last 30min on low. The chicken fell apart as I removed it so I ended up having to make shredded chicken instead of drumsticks. That was not planned so put me behind on the rest of the meal. I added some worchestire and vinegar to match Chef Johns Buffalo sauce. Next time, I will either brown/sear the drumsticks and follow other suggestions to crock pot for about 2hrs then bake. Without the extra juice mixed in, it was a little bland. I think browning will go a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States