Spicy Honey-Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I roast a chicken pretty much every weekend. It allows me to pull dinner together rather quickly throughout the week. Needless to say, I have tried nearly every recipe imaginable - and this one stands head and shoulders above the rest. I always stuff my chicken with 1 apple and 4-5 cloves of garlic, so this was the only change I made to the recipe. Oh, and I reduced the temperature to 250 and cooked it a tad bit longer. This recipe is superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
As long as you baste it, as the recipe says, it doesn't burn. The skin gets a beautiful crisp, but it certainly doesn't burn if you watch it and keep basting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Simple, yet good. I used bone-in chicken thighs and halved the recipe. Was a good amount for four thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Made this for a family get together and it disappeared quickly. Had a great skin/crunch on it. The only bad thing about it was...My mother asked me what restaurant I bought it at. REALLY? LOL! So will not make this for her again, but will make this for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilverMonkey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Used boneless, skinless chicken thighs for this. Put together the honey sauce in the casserole and placed the chicken in, turning to coat. Refrigerated until cooking time, about an hour. Cooked, covered, for 30 minutes at 350, turned the thighs over, and broiled about 15 minutes, turning once. Very tasty. Next time, will cook in foil-lined pan for easy clean up. Forgot the butter and don't know what difference it would have made but it was very good without it. Also, did not have a tablespoon of chili powder and used what we had, which was about half that. Did not baste at all, so very little effort involved here. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
a moist chicken with a little heat and a little sweet, a good little recipe. I like a bit more bite and will adjust the cayenne pepper nect time. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Delicious! Keeping other review comments in mind I reduced the amount of time on 400 and covered the bird with foil once it got dark - which was pretty fast. Loved the skin. Definitely will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
the flavor of the sauce is excellent, but same comments as previous posters. If you put the sauce on the skin you get burnt skin and not flavored chicken. Lift the skin and put the sauce UNDER the skin and you get flavored un burnt chicken. For personal taste reasons I cut the hot pepper in half to 1/4 tsp....but the real change here is in the sauce application
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
The chicken was delicious. I followed another person's suggestion and doubled the honey mixture and put it inside the skin so the flavor would come through. (and rubbed it on the outside too)I added 1/2 cup chicken broth to the pan so the honey didn't burn. I had to cover in tin foil after about 45 minutes because the outside was getting very golden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Everyone seemed to like. Should make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States