Spicy Honey-Mustard Glazed Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I absolutely LOVED the flavor of this sauce, but was very disappointed in the end result. It didn't flavor up the ribs as much as I thought it would, so our ribs tasted as if we hadn't added any sauce at all. Next time I may consider marinating the ribs in the sauce first, because I truly did think the sauce was outstanding, I just wanted the ribs to absorb more of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
THis recipe came out fantastic with great presentation, the ribs were golden brown and extremly delicious, I served it with the roasted vegeatbles as a side, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Loved the flavor, made some small changes in preparing. I first placed the ribs in a large pot and covered with water. Covered, and simmered 1 hour. Drained the ribs and transfered to a shallow dish. After preparing the glaze I let it cool slightly and then poured over the ribs. Let the ribs marinate at least 2 hours, I let mine marinate over night. Grilled them while frequently basting... it was soooo good. A little spicy for those with sensitive taste buds. My boyfriend loved the flavor, but said they were too hot to eat as many as he wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lamos79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterbury, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Only change I made was at the last 10 minutes of grilling I added some Sweet Baby Ray’s Sweet Brown Sugar & Hickory BBQ sauce. Didn’t hurt the flavor at all, in fact the Sweet Baby Ray’s gave a nice bit of tang at first & the original sauce gave it a final nice sweet taste. Excellent! Will definitely make again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
4 stars for original recipe, 5 with my changes... I took another reviewer's advice and boiled the ribs first. I also added about 4 cloves of minced garlic to the glaze and marinated the glazed ribs overnight. We took them to a 4th of July BBQ and they were the hit of the party! Sweet, sticky, and spicy good! We will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This recipe is great but it is super spicy. All that red pepper takes a toll. I couldn't eat my ribs that hot every time, so from now on I'll probably halve the amount of red pepper flakes I use. I also substituted spicy brown mustard for dijon and really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selma, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Loved it. My husband, who knows sauce, said it was the greatest he has ever had. Pretty high praise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Wow! I cut the crushed red pepper by 1/2 and still had to skim some from the sauce before putting it on the ribs. I also simmered the ribs for about 30 min. then let them marinate in the sauce for 1 hr before putting on the grill. They browned very fast (almost burned) so I ended up putting them in a covered casserole dish with the reserved sauce and slow cooked at 250 for 3 more hours. This was delicious and I will definately make the sauce again, with only 1Tbsp of red pepper. I also sauted 1 large clove of garlic with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Be forewarned, this makes a lot of sauce! I'll definitely be making this again though. It was spicy enough for my tastes halving the red pepper, but other than that the recipe was pretty straightforward. I felt really rewarded for trying this out. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
These were delicious! My boyfriend couldn't get enough of them. The only changes I made were that I substituted a chipotle seasoning blend for the cajun seasoning, and reduced the red pepper flakes by about a tablespoon (because the chipotle stuff is pretty hot by itself). And, I boiled the ribs for about 1 hr., let them cool for a bit, and then covered them with the sauce and let them sit in the fridge overnight. The next day, I baked them in a 300 degree oven for about 40 min., and then browned up both sides under the broiler while frequently basting them with more sauce. Mmmm, the edges were all crispy and carmelized. It was a little spicy for my 8-yr. old though - she dipped hers in applesauce to cool it down a bit. The sauce is SO good that I'm going to try it on steak tips the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

How to Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, slow-cooked pork ribs on your barbeque grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States