Spicy Grilled Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
I really think the 1 tablespoon of salt is a misprint. I've used this recipe for years mincing the garlic with 1 teaspoon of salt and with that small change the recipe is a five star-er. Actually, a couple changes. I buy fresh frozen shrimp (split and deveined but NOT peeled) and thaw them in salted water (brine). Scientifically, this causes the protein in the shrimp to bind with the water and plumps them up. Leaving the shells on protects the delicate shrimp from the high heat of the grill and although it's a little work for your guests to peel their shrimp, it's finger lickin' good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
498 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKANDREWS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
The spices were just right for this recipe. It had a really good flavor. I did leave the shrimp in the garlic, salt, spice mixture to marinade for awhile and then I added the lemon juice shortly before cooking (if seafood is left in an acid for too long it can get mushy). Furthermore, I used my George Forman grill to cook the shrimp; it is winter and I was too lazy to stand in the garage with the regular grill. It only took about 2 minutes for the shrimp to cook. through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Very delicious and easy recipe. I made a few departures from the original. First, I did not put any caynne pepper (didn't have any at the time); then I added 1/2 tbsp salt, not a full tbsp. I minced 3 cloves of garlic instead of one and added an extra tbsp of olive oil. The proportions of the rest of the ingredients remained unchanged. The sauce was enough for 1 pound of shrimp, the salt and spice were just right. I cooked my shrimp in a broiler for 3 min on a foil covered lightly with cooking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
The SALT issue... 1 tbsp coarse salt is NOT a typo. There is a big difference between COARSE salt and REGULAR salt. 1 tbsp coarse salt would be equivalent to 1 tsp regular table salt. The recipe calls for coarse salt and if you choose to use table salt, it's up to you to know the difference in the two and not assume that the poster made an error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Ive made this several times and have discovered that I need to watch my times very closly. Setting too long in the salty mixture can ruin it. I have passed this along to friends, who all enjoy it very much. I usually serve 4 shrimp on top of a 4oz. piece of peppered and grilled buffalo top sirloin, roasted rosemary potatoes and a crisp cold mixed salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buffalochef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Great flavor. I cut down the salt to 1 tsp. and added 1 tsp. of Old Bay Seasoning (because I can't imaging shrimp without it). Make sure you don't overcook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
I used less salt and more cayenne. I then prepared 2 batches - I wrapped half the shrimp in bacon before I skewered them. Both were good, but the bacon wrapped were THE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I cut the salt in half like everyone else. This is spicy, but not as much as you'd think for there being 1/2 tsp of cayenne in it. My shrimp ended up sitting in the garlic/pepper mixture for an hour b/c I wasn't ready to cook them....I was worried it would make it too spicy, it didn't....they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
Excellent! Lots of zip! Works great with lime also, for a different twist when you're up for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
This was a quick and easy recipe, great for seafood lovers such as myself :) The only thing I did different, was I used a 1 whole fresh lemon, squeezed, rather than lemon juice. It made more of a sauce that I could pour over white rice with the shrimp. My fiance loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States