Spicy Grilled Cheese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I've made these adult-style grilled cheese forever and LOVE them! The only difference is that I butter the bread then dust the slices with garlic powder-perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I've always added tomato to my GC sandwiches... but I have to say the addition of onion and jalapeno really turned an otherwise fairly boring lunch into somwthing special! Taste is GREAT. I used part of a red onion, sliced into very thin rings, and added about half the jalapeno, already diced in the can. I put all the extras between the 2 slices of cheese... seems the melted cheese helps hang on to the tomato, onion and pepper much better than putting it on top... and it's alot easier to flip that way, not to mention a bit less messy to eat. Butter is much better tasting on GC's, and I really wouldn't even TRY them with Margarine. Totally different taste, and the butter browns up so much nicer. I think I may have found my new fave GC right here in this recipe! Next time I'll add a bit more jalapeno! Thank you, PATELGURL... these GC's rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Photo by PTMUGUCA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Oh my Lord this is awesome i made it tonight for dinner for me and my daughter i did not use the onion as i forgot to add it.. instead of white bread i used 100% whole wheat and i used monteray jack instead of american cheese and a whole jalapeno and had to have the roma's wouldnt have been as good with out them..this is a sure keeper, im not a big fan of grilled cheese but i tell you i love it this way..along side tomato soup look out what a quick dinner thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTMUGUCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I changed this sandwich up to suit my personal tastes. I used a couple slices of hothouse tomatoes that had been left to "drain" on paper towels, to remove some of the excess moisture. I used extra sharp white cheddar sliced cheese, jarred jalapeno slices, and ringed bermuda onion. Very good sandwich. I paired it with organic tomato soup. It was a great change from your basic grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Yummy!!! One of the best grilled cheese sandwhiches I have ever had. I don't eat white bread soI used wheat. I don't care for onions so I left them out. I used vine tomatoes and added some bacon. Oh my! I think I am going to go and make another one.Thanks for the great idea of adding the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Nice and spicy! A delicious twist on classic grilled cheese. I used a combinaiton of green onion, Cheddar cheese and sourdough bread along with the other ingredients. This was simple to put together for lunch and it went great with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
My husband HATES grilled cheese, and he hates tomatoes, but he asks for these all the time! We are stationed in Okinawa where there arent always fresh jalapenos, and if there are, they are almost $2 ea and are never really spicy, so I used crafts jalapeno cheese and it works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This Recipe is really delicious. The onions, tomatoes and peppers takes a good ole grilled cheese sandwich and kicks it up many notches to a whole new level. The spicy peppers in the cheese gives a pepper jack like flavor and the onions leaves a nice tingly feeling on the tongue way after you have finished the sandwich. You'll never make grilled cheese the same 'ole way again after eating this spicy grilled cheese sandwich. Thank You for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV2COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Great with sour dough, sharp cheddar and parmesan cheese dusted on the buttered bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I was hesitant to make this as I'm not too big on not cooked-through vegetables, but this was absolutely amazing. Honestly the best grilled cheese I've ever had. I think it's important to use a thinly sliced red onion, and with it all the flavours are perfect. I was also surprised how actually spicy the jalapenos were. I'll definitely be making this to spice up the gluten-free bread my mother has to eat as she has a gluten intolerance and can't eat normal bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollymarie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Just add cheese and toast till it's golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States