Spicy Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Very nice, tho' I did change the cooking method a bit as I've never had the best success cooking green beans in a fry pan. And in this case you were to cook the beans along with the already cooked jalapeno and shallots, which just didn't appeal to me. So...I cooked the vegetables first, adding more jalapeno than called for and some chopped red pepper as well (mainly because I'm on the road again in the morning and wanted to make use of what I had in the fridge). Meantime, I cooked the green beans in boiling, salted water for five minutes, then immediately shocked them in an ice water bath. This made quick work of finishing them up in the fry pan with the sweated vegetables once I was about ready to serve, with little chance of over or undercooking them - this method also kept them a bright and vibrant green. The lemon at the end lent a fresh flavor and brought out just the right hint of tanginess. No worries about there being too much heat in the jalapenos, since you're not using the seeds or membranes. Never would have thought to use jalapenos in green beans - it was an interesting and flavorful addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
excellent recepie !!! i cook something like this all the time. i always have frozen green beans in the freezer and along with green chilli i also use a pinch of red chilli flakes and instead of lemon juice 1/2 tsp dry mango powder. all the dry spices just stick on the beans and its heavenly to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I fixed as written but next time I would boil the beans for 4 or 5 minutes and stick them in an ice bath before proceeding with the recipe for they were a bit tough still. I loved the combo of the jalapenos and lemon though and I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
WOWZA!!! Delicious! LOVED these beans and it was simple ingrediants!!! and i'm the worlds toughest critic when it comes to food! i will make this over and over and over for my family!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
These were quick and easy. Next time I'll use more jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
My wife and I really liked these. Very simple to prepare and cook. The jalapeno I chose happened to not be too hot, but the flavor came through along with the shallots. Will most definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
add a little sesame seeds and De'Lish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Great recipe. I doubled it and added a little sesame seeds. I might leave a bit of the jalapeno seed in next time. My guys like things hot. Regardless, there were no left overs and everyone raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I was "doing Mexican" last night and had green beans that needed to be used. This fit perfectly with the menu. I didn't have shallots so used some finely diced red onion and crushed garlic. I doubt we would make this often, but if I did a Mexican theme again, I certainly would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Very very good! The best green beans i have ever had. Defiantly a keeper! So good I added some Won ton strips to give it a crunch so good i will make this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States