Spicy Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Little too much lemon for my taste buds and the green beans needed more time to steam, otherwise they were good. Served this with Tomato, Avocado and Corn as a starter and Chef John's Veracruz Style Red Snapper and a simple Mexican Rice II all from AR. Tasty! Thank you Trilly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
N is qqqqqqswww ,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Added tablespoon of garlic with shallots and peppers. Next time will add beans earlier and cook about 5 min longer. Great receipe! Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Didn't think this was anything special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Howell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This was just great! Thanks for sharing. Folks should use common sense on the amount of chilies they use(according to their tolerance level) as well as the amount of lemon juice...I am making this again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger Braden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Briceville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Islamabad, Islamabad Capital Territory, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This tasted like dishes that were prepared seperately & put together to save space in the refrigerator. :/ I thought lime juice would better suit the dish, but other than that, not much different. I'll put leftovers in soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I fixed as written but next time I would boil the beans for 4 or 5 minutes and stick them in an ice bath before proceeding with the recipe for they were a bit tough still. I loved the combo of the jalapenos and lemon though and I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Excellent, and oh so easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Great recipe. I doubled it and added a little sesame seeds. I might leave a bit of the jalapeno seed in next time. My guys like things hot. Regardless, there were no left overs and everyone raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Very nice, tho' I did change the cooking method a bit as I've never had the best success cooking green beans in a fry pan. And in this case you were to cook the beans along with the already cooked jalapeno and shallots, which just didn't appeal to me. So...I cooked the vegetables first, adding more jalapeno than called for and some chopped red pepper as well (mainly because I'm on the road again in the morning and wanted to make use of what I had in the fridge). Meantime, I cooked the green beans in boiling, salted water for five minutes, then immediately shocked them in an ice water bath. This made quick work of finishing them up in the fry pan with the sweated vegetables once I was about ready to serve, with little chance of over or undercooking them - this method also kept them a bright and vibrant green. The lemon at the end lent a fresh flavor and brought out just the right hint of tanginess. No worries about there being too much heat in the jalapenos, since you're not using the seeds or membranes. Never would have thought to use jalapenos in green beans - it was an interesting and flavorful addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States