Spicy Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This was just great! Thanks for sharing. Folks should use common sense on the amount of chilies they use(according to their tolerance level) as well as the amount of lemon juice...I am making this again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger Braden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Briceville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Islamabad, Islamabad Capital Territory, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This tasted like dishes that were prepared seperately & put together to save space in the refrigerator. :/ I thought lime juice would better suit the dish, but other than that, not much different. I'll put leftovers in soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I fixed as written but next time I would boil the beans for 4 or 5 minutes and stick them in an ice bath before proceeding with the recipe for they were a bit tough still. I loved the combo of the jalapenos and lemon though and I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Excellent, and oh so easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Great recipe. I doubled it and added a little sesame seeds. I might leave a bit of the jalapeno seed in next time. My guys like things hot. Regardless, there were no left overs and everyone raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Very nice, tho' I did change the cooking method a bit as I've never had the best success cooking green beans in a fry pan. And in this case you were to cook the beans along with the already cooked jalapeno and shallots, which just didn't appeal to me. So...I cooked the vegetables first, adding more jalapeno than called for and some chopped red pepper as well (mainly because I'm on the road again in the morning and wanted to make use of what I had in the fridge). Meantime, I cooked the green beans in boiling, salted water for five minutes, then immediately shocked them in an ice water bath. This made quick work of finishing them up in the fry pan with the sweated vegetables once I was about ready to serve, with little chance of over or undercooking them - this method also kept them a bright and vibrant green. The lemon at the end lent a fresh flavor and brought out just the right hint of tanginess. No worries about there being too much heat in the jalapenos, since you're not using the seeds or membranes. Never would have thought to use jalapenos in green beans - it was an interesting and flavorful addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
My husband really liked these. I used a whole jalapeno instead of half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
My wife and I really liked these. Very simple to prepare and cook. The jalapeno I chose happened to not be too hot, but the flavor came through along with the shallots. Will most definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Very good! My entire family liked this side. Next time I think I will use the entire jalapeno pepper though. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
excellent recepie !!! i cook something like this all the time. i always have frozen green beans in the freezer and along with green chilli i also use a pinch of red chilli flakes and instead of lemon juice 1/2 tsp dry mango powder. all the dry spices just stick on the beans and its heavenly to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States