Spicy Green Beans and Pork, Asian Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I grabbed this recipe a few months ago and make it at least once or twice a month. I was looking for something close to what is served at the wonderful Chinese restaurant my husband and I have been going to on date night since our first date and this is pretty close! :-) I use two chicken breasts cut into very small pieces (instead of the pork), coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, and increase the sauce proportions (1.5 to double depending on the size of the chicken breasts). Chef Rita hit it -- the blistering of the beans is the key and the sauce is super yummy. It's a huge hit any time I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmySioux

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: San Ramon, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is a GREAT dish! I adjusted a few ingredients to my taste. I used 6 cloves of garlic I minced(not minced from a jar, ever), 4 green onions, an additional tsp. fresh ginger, and a 1/2 tsp of dry crushed red pepper...also I used twice the amount of soy sauce(low sodium). I prepared the ingredients beforehand and put them each in a small bowl and first time I made the spicy beans served them over brown rice....if you want the"sauce" to be "soupier", add a bit more water....I forgot that I also added a tsp of sugar as well! LOVE this...might try it next time with ground turkey or chicken!!! Definitely a main dish...but key is ONLY fresh spices and good quality ingredients...garlic chili pastes come in a huge variety at a higher end grocery...don't have to shop at a specialty Asian store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bonne Terre, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This has been sitting in my box for a long time. This is a very good and easy to make recipe. Next time I'm going to up the spices just a bit and maybe add some hoisen sauce. I will make this again and this would be a good busy dinner night meal. I served over brown rice. The other thing that is great about this recipe is that it didn't require me to buy any additional spice ingredients. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Even though this wasn't exactly the recipe I wanted, it was excellent! Frying the beans in oil first made them crunchy and juicy. My husband and 14 year-old son loved it!I made this as a side dish, so there was too much pork. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novato, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This is amazing. Restaurant quality. (I doubled the amount of pork though, and used a full pound.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Delicious and pretty easy. Make sure you use fresh green beans, I tried thawed frozen ones and they didn't get crisp. Great spicy asian flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
It is pretty easy to make but all I taste is the spiciness, next time will have to use less chili sauce and up the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Killingly, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Great recipe, for added asian flavor try a tsp. or two of sesame oil added to your veg. oil. Fast and easy, and delicious. Always a hit with my family. Peeled diced eggplant can be substituted for the green beans, or added along with them--tastes super, just increase the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
We loved it! Very fragrant and flavorful. The only thing we didn't do is fry the beans, instead, we blanched them. I had to adjust the hear level because of our daughter. Also, we found it a little salty, so either cut down the soy sauce or use low sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
The sauce was tasty but didn't really go well with the green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States