Spicy Glazed Sweet Potatoes and Pineapples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
the picture looks like yams . yams are not sweet potatoes . sweet potatoes look like potatoes and taste sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
this is a great recipe if you're sick of the traditional marshmallow laced yams. I add about a 1/4 cup of dried cherries into the mix and its great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This one I cant recommend as written. There needs to be some changes made in the way it's prepared, I ended up with a big mess that doesnt work the way the recipe describes. Even if it did, I cant imagine it being used as an appetizer with toothpicks. All that being said, the flavors are wonderful together.. just wish the recipe had been better put together. I would completely change how the bacon and the "sauce" is prepared; as written, the bacon takes at least twice as long to crisp with that much sugar, DONT use paper towels when you drain the bacon unless you like the taste of paper in your food because it's impossible to remove sugar coated bacon from paper towels. The sauce/topping was the worst, because it ends up carmelizing into a thick ooze that wont pour over anything while you're trying to crisp the bacon, and hardens into cement when it cools. I ended up mixing what I could coax out of the pan into the mixture made to coat the potatoes & pineapple. There should also be a clue as to what degree of doneness the sweet potatoes should be after boiling.. I'd probably have cooked them a little less so they didnt turn into almost mush when I combined the ingredients. I ended up baking it at 425 for about 20 minutes. If you're willing to watch out for these issues, and dont mind all the dirty dishes you're going to make, go ahead and give it a shot, as the flavors are lovely together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
These were so good! This is defnately a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRISHGINA74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This is wonderful! I made this tonight with fried ham...this will be on my Thanksgiving table this year for sure! I cut back on the cinnamon per other reviews but think I will use all of it next time...and more bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keenesburg, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Thought this was very good, but a bit too spicy for us. I don't mind a bit of zing, but this was just too much. Will cut the cayenne down to 1/4 tsp. next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Five stars isn't enough!!! We love yams so anytime we can find something new to do with them we have to try it. This recipe is fabulous. I have to admit I did tweak it a bit as I didn't not want the cinnamon to overpower the taste of the yams - I only boiled them with 1 teaspoon and put only 1 teaspoon of cinnamon in the glaze. Next time I will do one or the other but not both - even that was a bit too much cinnamon for my personal tastes. But once that bacon hits your tastebuds - life as you know it has changed forever! I wanted to hold back on the cayenne but used the full amount and am SO glad I did. My daughter is right - this is (so cliche`) to die for. Fabulous recipe and now I intend to go look for more by the same contributer!! THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone LOVED it! It had a great flavor and was really easy. I deffinately recommend it if your tired of the traditional sweet potatoes with brown sugar and marshmallow. The family voted and it's deffinately a keeper! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamBo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States