Spicy Glazed Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I've been looking for a sweet & spicy nut recipe that doesn't use butter or egg whites (so they'll keep longer)...and this one is really nice! I added 1/2 teaspoon salt and I'm glad I did. I cut the cayenne down to 1/4 teaspoon based on other reviews, but then it was barely detectable at all. Next time I will definitely add the full 1/2 teaspoon...and I'm not one for a lot of cayenne. I reduced the oven temp down to 325 degrees to try and avoid the burning that other reviews mentioned, but mine still burnt a bit on the bottom. Next time I'll lower it down to 300 degrees and check them at 12 minutes instead of 15. I also used parchment paper (not foil) and had no problem with the nuts sticking. I plan on making these again for holiday gift giving...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
These make an AMAZING salad topper! I added in a few pinches of sea salt, ended up with a sweet, spicey & salty treat! Perfect on my baby spinach salad, with a homemade honey, bacon and mandarin dressing, red onions, mushrooms, and crumbled goat cheese....Mmmmmm mmmmm!!!!! Friends say it's straight out of an upscale restaurant :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
These were EXCELLENT and really easy. I have another recipe that is much more complicated. I followed others' comments and added 1/2 tsp salt and only used 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper because my family does not like spicy food. Also, I would recommend spraying the aluminum foil with cooking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
What a great taste! I can't stop eating these pecans. I used Splenda instead of the sugar and (hopefully) reduced the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
One of the best pecan recipes I have tried. I don't like egg whites and this was just what I was looking for. These are a great post-workout snack and I use them on my salads. Yummy! One note - you must let them carmelize in the oven or they will turn out grainy. They won't burn if you keep an eye on them! I stirred them every few minutes after the sugar started to brown. If you take them out too soon, they will be grainy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia Yankee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Jersey, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Easy and fast. I added cinnamon to the sugar mixture and sprinkled sea salt over the pecans before putting them in the oven. I put them in for 15 minutes exactly and they came out slightly burned. I would recommend 12 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This was very good. I didn't use as much cayenne because the people I was making this sald for didn't like spicy food. Next time I would lower the temperature to 300 because some of the smaller, thinner pecans were overcooked and burning after 10 minutes at 350 degrees. Also, some became glazed (caramelized) and some didn't. I will definitely use this again for my next salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Excellent! I added 1/2 tsp each of cinnamon and vanilla, then added 4 dashes of ground cloves and nutmeg. Quick, easy and delicious, and I'm making for 3 families at Christmas! Thanks for the recipe, this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
These are really good! I used walnuts, it was what i had. So easy, I didn't heat til boiling. I just warmed the mixture till sugar dissolved. Next time, I will just skip the stovetop step and mix everything together and put in oven. I followed the exact recipe and these are very yummy. I can't stop eating them. If making for more than yourself, double or triple this recipe. Will make again, so simple. If your worried about the spicy factor, don't. They are just well flavored. I don't like things too spicy, so these were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
AWESOME and addicting !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States