Spicy Garlic and Pepper Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I really liked this recipe but.... I love hot spicy food, and I cut the red pepper flakes in half and it was really hot (I was ok with it, one guest was scraping the flakes off). I would not use the amount called for next time. The other thing is that I halved the water and it was pretty soupy. If you are serving this with rice, it might be okay but since I was making a low carb dish, we did not have rice- not a big deal since we just used a slotted spoon. Overall, this was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by izza91a
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
great recipe. i just used less oil.. but other than that it was awesome i made a side of brown rice with vegies and a spring salad it was delicious thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
We didn't enjoy this recipe. Cabbage may need a lot more time to cook and there is far too much red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Lovely dish with incredible sauce. The boyfriend cleaned the plate! Only suggestion is to tone down amount of red pepper flakes just a tad so you can fully enjoy the other flavours. This is a keeper and pretty to serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This dish lacked flavor tremendously. I tried preparing dish to specs and was very disappointed. I prepared the dish with some modifications. I shredded the cabbage, add yellow onion; cut julienne style. Heat wok, add peanut oil. When hot add shredded cabbage, onion, Chinese Five Flavor, and Mushroom Flavored Dark Soy Sauce by: Lee Kum Kee. Placed on plate. Heated the remaining peanut oil, place garlic, shrimps, onion, added Chinese Five Season, Oyster Sauce (to taste) , and 1 ½ tbsp. dumpling sauce, and crush red pepper. (to taste) Stir until all ingredients are saturated with sauce. (Don’t overcook shrimps) Serve over cabbage. Great Meal!! Plenty of Flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Allen
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
The flavor on this was good, but I found it to be way too oily. If I make it again I'll cut the oil significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Yummy! I didn't think it would have enough flavor, but it did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGGIEEATER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Freeland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This was easy to prepare and tasted great. I used a whole head/bunch of napa cabbage and 1/2 dozen shrimp. Served over rice and it was enough for DH and I to have leftovers. I wouldn't recommend making more than you will eat at one setting because I don't think this is a good leftovers type of dish. I added in powdered ginger and peanut oil to the cabbage and it was delicious. Also it is important to add water to the shrimp when cooking to ensure they remain juicy and succulent. I like others didn't use as much red pepper as called for in the recipe, but I did let DH sprinkle in the amount he preferred while I cooked. He really likes red pepper and still he didn't reach the 2 teaspoons called for in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CalgaryJosie
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Scaled up to 4 servings, so I used a 1 lb bag of shrimp, a whole onion and a small head of cabbage. Added ginger and carrots, left out the cilantro. This was quick, easy, and healthy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CalgaryJosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
RARELY do I give not only 5 stars to a recipe but to add a recipe to my "family's" recipe book at home; yeah this one did it. Delicicious! I doubled everything of course; I threw everything together and sauteed it and it was THAT simple. Served over rice and wallah! Dinner's served! Thanks for posting. (EDIT-so I asked my hubby about this dish and he was SO MAD AT ME NOW for not making more, because he wants a ton it of it now, ALL DAY EVERY DAY as he says; really? Yeah same palate and thought process) EDIT: I made this last night and making it again tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Rehders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lampasas, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Chef John's Grilled Garlic and Herb Shrimp

Delicious, fresh garden herb marinated and grilled shrimp.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States